I BELIEVE IN A BETTER TOMORROW

in Hive Naija18 days ago

We are all hoping and we want our country to be better in many aspects, what are you doing that you think is benefitting your community or city or country in general?.



I am a Nigerian, and I am proud of my country. Don't get me wrong, I am not proud of condition of the countries economy neither am proud of how bad corruption have eaten deep into our system. But I am proud of my country. Speaking of corruption, is it even possible to meet a single Nigerian who live in Nigeria but have never engaged in any form of corrupt act? Even though their are people of such caliber, they are certainly the minority and it is a problem on our side as a country.

istockphoto-1418158500-1024x1024.jpg
Source

It's usual for masses to pick out the errors and faults of their leaders. As a matter of fact, I do it myself. The obvious incompetency of Nigeria current administration have even made it a norm, every citizen have something to say. Truth be told, this administration is probably the worse we have ever had, but that is not the purpose of this writing. Are the masses any better? It is very easy to escape from answering this question on the bases that Nigeria have become so corrupt that one cannot survive in her except by being corrupt, but on the other have we cannot completely excuse ourselves from the problem of Nigeria if we are in anyway part of her corruption.


I as an individual cannot entirely excuse myself from Nigerian's corruption, but their little things I do that certainly help. They might be little but they help.


From October 2018, after attending a public lecture on environmental pollution back then in school, I concluded that I would never litter. No matter how bad it is, I do all that is in my power to properly dispose my waste. Sometimes, I even pocket my waste until I get to a waste bin. Sometimes I even take my waste back home in the process. I do know how much impact it must have had on Nigeria as a nation, but I know that Nigeria will be cleaner if most Nigerians dispose their waste properly. It is little though, but I implore Nigerians in the house to join me in this journey of making Nigeria the cleanest State in Africa.

I was upportuned to preside over a polling unite during the 2023 Nigeria General Election. While conducting the Governorship election, I was offered a bribe of certain amount of money to divert the vote of other parties to the ruling party after the whole party agents in that unit have agreed to betray their parties (for what ever reason) for the ruling party. Each time I remember how I turned them down, I am always proud of myself. As an Obedient (a movement that was triggered by the Labour Party presidential candidate Peter Obi), I made some promises to myself. One of those promises is to believe in a better Nigeria no matter the cost. Though I needed that money, but collecting it will betray everything I hold onto as an obedient.

Before now, I have entirely lost hope on Nigeria, I believed that nothing good will ever come out of her. Having become an obedient, my ideology have gradually changed. I now see it as my responsibility to believe in a better Nigeria. Nigeria might not be in it's best state now, but I am not losing hope. I might have done so many things that I am not proud of in the past (like refusing to vote), but I am fully out this time. At least I will continue doing my part as a citizen. The one thing I believe is that if we continue keep doing our part, we shall gradually take back our nation. It's just a matter of time.

IMG_20240328_144926.jpg

Sort:  

I’m just imagining that if all the people that attended the environmental pollution with you also decided that they were not going to litter, then imagine how much progress your country would have made on sanitation

It no easy task my dear. Sometimes I have to carry waterproofs around in my pocket😀. My friends even make gest of me with. I was happy when I found a female corp member who also practice the same act during my youth service...

 17 days ago  

1000140008.gif