Hive Naija Weekly Prompts | Edition 32 ~ Responsibilities are not my thing

in Hive Naija3 months ago

beautiful-2910260_1280.jpg

There have been times that we have been prompted to step-up and assume responsibility. It may be in our personal or professional lives. Tell us about a time you were required to step into a phase of leadership - no matter how brief the moment. Was it difficult? Did you adapt?




If there is anyone who runs away from any responsibility it is me, not that I wouldn't play the role well but because I tend to run away from the limelight, do not want to be the one at the forefront leading, just love to be a member, and as one who is a perfectionist, it means I would have to put in my all, just so the responsibility placed on me is well accountable for and something I can be proud about and people can commend me for a job well done. Whenever something I am being made to handle comes out better, it gives me this confidence and pride that I was able to do something commendable and loved by many who care to take a look at it or who knew about it.




So, in my last job were worked as a sales personal for the company, it was actually a bakery. After a few months of resuming work there, the accountant was sacked according to what I heard it was due to his constant shortage of money at the end of the day and the end of the week.

Well, I kind of pitied him but I also understood where the management was coming from then, I minded my business because I was enjoying where I was, as a sales personnel I tend to meet a lot of people daily and some customers are generous enough to give tips which the company does not frown upon.




game-figure-598036_1280.jpg
Image Source

After a few weeks of interviewing candidates, they still couldn't pick the few candidates that came to be interviewed for the job, I was called upon by the management as I resumed my job one morning, I didn't think hard about why I was summoned but I went and then, I was told that I would be handling the accounting of the company for the meantime until they were able to source for a better candidate for that position.

I was astonied because among all the workers I was the youngest and the only person who was new in the company, the rest of the workers were all long-time workers who had worked in the company for a year or two or maybe even more but then, I was picked to handle the accounting position until a new person was found but I was still asked to mount my position was their sales personnel and only get to do take up their other role when it is time for workers to make returns or remit of what was handed to them when they resumed for the day job and my salary was increased.




It was difficult not per the responsibility or role was given to me but per the people who I was asked to work with, most of them were older than me in age and in their years of working in the company, so sometimes, they tended to act cruel and rude because they all felt I wasn't fit for the position. Since it wasn't my first time handling that position, I didn't have any problem sorting the calculation process, so anytime I returned or showed them their mistakes in their sales book and asked them to do a cross-check of what they had there, I always get a bad look from them because they felt I was acting all "mighty" and "Miss know it all."

Did I adapt to it, yes, of course, I adapted to the cold treatment I got from especially those who were way older than I am and after some months, they found someone to replace me in my other position (sales personnel) while I took the accounting position full time until the day I resigned from the company.




This is my entry to Hive Naija Prompt

Sort:  

Hmm.
Been in charge of a financial role is really hard one, humans are difficult to tame but I’m glad that you were able to endure their attitudes. My brother is an accountant and I have heard of such cases from him.
Well done dear

I'm glad you adapted to the cold treatment and eventually, you did a good job. Well done.

 3 months ago  

1000140008.gif

 3 months ago  

A financial role in a company (no matter how big or small) is never small. Any small mistake can lead to the loss of your name. And of course, there is always the entitlement mentality exhibited by older folks in such places. They believe they got there first. lol.