THE JOY OF SELF INDEPENDENCE; THE BALANCED APPROACH

in Hive Naijalast month (edited)

Hello great people @HiveNaija community, happy new week and its yet another awesome time on the @hivenaija weekly prompt. I'm @fab-tay and i am excited to be participating in this week's prompt as my discuss will be on the balanced approach i employed after gaining self independence which has really been of help to me. It promises to be an exciting read, kindly follow through.

As the last born of the family, it wasn't the usual pampered last born scenerio though i enjoyed some cool treaties.😄 All throughout out my life i have been staying with my parents up until i finished secondary school. Thereafter, i began to seek admission to the university and The first time i gained self independence was when i gained admission to the University pre-degree program which is for a year.

Source

The first remarkable part of this independence was me been allowed to board vehicle by myself without anyone accompanying me to the examination centre at a distant town where the University was. This wasn't so before because i rare travel then and if so, with either of my parent or sibling. By the time i went and came back home, then the confidence of slef independence is gradually becoming a reality.

On gaining admission to the pre-degree, i was allocated an accommodation which involved staying with other students and this marks the second remarkable part of been independent as for the whole one year, i stayed in school on my own with just few holidays spent at home. This is remarkable because i haven't been away from home talkless of it been for that long period. I wasn't over protected, caged or eager to leave house, but i need those moments as it marks the beginning of a new phase for me.

Source

During this one year, i have the time to myself, made some decisions and have the say of mine own but i wasn't loose or misused it which is the balance to it. The mistake or costly errors made by many occurs at this moment because it is a vilnerable moment if not properly managed. To stay accountable, i still connects to my parents as i do reach out to them even when not physically present with them and also, i stayed accountable to the Christian couple who are my Pastors in the Church i attended then and this really helped me alot.

By gaining this independent season of my life, i got to make some vital decisions of my life and to prepare for the years ahead. Part of it was reading some books, made some critical decisions about the future, developed some skills needed for the future which i now made use of. I met some wonderful and brilliant students then who we still maintain contact with up till now because of the positive additions and value. This is my story of independence especially the initial one. Thanks so much for reading and i wish you all a great week ahead.

This is my entry to @Hivenaija weekly prompt 43 which is posted through @inleo


Thumbnail designed using Canva

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 last month  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

 last month  

Interesting. I guess many of us were under the wings of our parents do much that, even we found some form of liberty to be on our own, it's an entirely new game.

Lol
Exactly
It's an entirely new game which is indeed needful.
Thanks for your awesome comments

Being self independent is that time one would start taking decisions for themselves and no one bossing around them on what to do and not to do. Whether we want it or not, that stage will come and we would have to face life squarely.

Exactly ma
Most people that delayed or shy away from this precious moment have themselves to be blamed. It's good to accept that moment and face it headlong.
Thank you for your comments

You are most welcome.

This is lovely
I really enjoy reading your story of independence.

You later broke out of the shell which is very vital, keep exploring the world dear friend

Thanks so much ma, I'm glad you found it interesting. I really appreciates your comments.

It's always tough leaving ones comfort zone to become independent. But I'm glad you scaled through 😊

Yes o but it's just needed at that particular time. Thanks for reading and commenting

You've a lovely experience. It's beautiful to see your journey.