Journey through Failure: Lessons Learned

in Hive Naija2 months ago

1721250441125.jpg

Hello guys, welcome back to my blog, hope you all had an awesome day.

Reflect on a failure that taught you an important lesson. How did it shape your perspective?

Failure is an event that occurs when one doesn't meet expectations or doesn't meet an objective. Failure is not something that most people want to be associated with, but a lot can be learned when you fail, you find out why you didn't succeed, you discover ways that if trailed, will lead to you not achieving your desired outcome, but like I said earlier, no one wants to fail.

We often see failure as a sign of weakness, that we weren't enough or didn't do enough, not so many people sit back after failing at something and ask themselves what they learned from the whole process.

I remember when I was given a particular task to carry out when I initially joined the organization I work with, I didn't understand what I was meant to do, but I didn't ask questions extensively to have a clear understanding of what I was meant to do. I think this marked my first failure because assuming I had a better understanding of what I was meant to do, maybe I would have done a better job.

IMG_20240416_115547_117.jpg

After I was given the task, I started fidgeting because I knew I didn't know what to do, and instead of asking for help from my senior colleagues who were more familiar with the system, I went ahead and embarked on a series of Google searches to carry out the task.

My search went on and on, you know how when you search for something on Google, so many opinions and answers pop up,? but it's now left to you to sieve out the relevant information from the irrelevant ones, but this can only happen when you actually know what it is you are looking for. I was able to come up with something, but it wasn't holistic, it was shabby and wasn't in-depth, by the time I turned it in, I had already wasted so much time.

By the time my group head took a look at what I had done, he called me to his office and asked that I give him a summary of what I did, I was stuttering the whole time I spoke, but within me, I knew I was just blabbing, but it was better to say something than keep mute, by the time I was done, my boss was just staring at me, I couldn't read his facial expression to tell if he was angry or not, so I just kept fondling with the hem of my blouse waiting for him to say something.

Finally, he broke the silence and asked if I was done, and I responded in the affirmative. He then asked if I understood what I was asked to do, and I said not really, he then asked me why I didn't ask questions to be clear, or why I didn't ask my colleagues, he then took his time to explain what I was supposed to do.

1721250097334.jpg

Part of the things I learned from this experience is to always seek to understand something before I go into it because having an understanding of something is more like the fundamentals of the whole matter.

I also learned that I need to ask questions when I don't know something, I should ask questions, because a man who doesn't know his way around, but asks questions won't get lost. After that incident, everyone in my office knows me, I'm always asking about things I don't know to get a better grasp of them.

Another thing I learned from this situation is that I need people, I can't always do it on my own, I need the help, input, and guidance of others if I want to go far in life. So in a nutshell people, friends, family, and even strangers can be of help to you when you least expect it.

So these are some of the lessons I was able to draw out of this whole situation, and they have been helping me, both in my family, in carrying out tasks, and in relating with others.

This is my submission for the #hivenaija weekly prompt.

All images are mine except otherwise stated

Thank you for stopping by🌹

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

It is good to ask for understanding even though you know it but you have a little confusion than to keep quiet and to claim you know everything I believe with your pass experience you can take correction to ask questions were ever you are confuse

Hmmm, failure is a major part of our growth and without failing we won't see the need to improve.

NTy4GV6ooFRnQt6V6gjbhfVYEwpEewkDAoTUNZay5KXit5tJvcatzEum37mp9KUoFakPymsYEutpcLiEdixhtdJJ3DX66pyhKtNAwNagwjQdE3T4YDJ28AVaA4C6FdAHjdx8bMKMuVZMAS9Y3TRsvhk2soa7BKeZ1eCRB5WM.gif

Yeah agree with you, failure helps us bring out the best in us.

what we call failure are often steps to success or growth but because we never take time to reflect on those periods we think we were weak that's why.

#dreemerforlife