You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smells, Music and Memories.

in Hive Naija2 months ago (edited)

Delightful!

What a great post about sensory time travel! I can definitely relate.

I've been in middle of writing a blog post with the same elements for the last three days. It's interesting to find that there are others on Hive that have the exact same thoughts as me about music, scents related to memories and time travel. Btw. reading a long-forgotten book can also revive memories that happened around reading the book, sounds, smells, seasons and other memories related to the time when you read it.

I'm almost 48 years old now, and I started the trip through the memory lane not only to try to recall things for myself, but also for posterity's sake. I've got kids, and I think they might be interested to know about things in my past. I will be employing these methods (music, smells and books) to recover memories, so it'll probably take a while to write down everything. But I'll make it happen.

Take care, Cheers!

Sort:  
 2 months ago  

Now that you mentioned it, I vaguely remember that a book did that to me. However, there was also a time [still happens] when I would recall vivid images from a book I read while listening to a particular song that I almost mistook it for a movie. Listening to those songs even today take me back to that very scene in whatever book I was reading and the same emotions I felt then, the environment where I read that book. It all comes flooding.

I have also thought that my kids would want to know about me from the past. I don't know if it is possible to bring back all memories in regards to music. What I am sure of is that you will recover the most significant of those memories.

Thank you for stopping by!