You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Frequent Are Power Outages for You?

in Hive Naija4 months ago

Okay, I understand. Yes, it sounds like a fairly complex problem, but I'm sure there can be many solutions.

Perhaps there are NGOs or international initiatives that offer grants.

the possibility of setting up a community solar system where several households or an entire community can invest in a large solar system. I think this could reduce costs per household and provide a stable source of energy for several families.

Of course, it's difficult to set up, but I think it will always be more stable than the electricity supplied by the country?

In fact, since you're working online, you need electricity. You'd have to calculate how much money you lose when you don't have access to electricity. Then you'd know how profitable it is to invest in solar energy.

But I agree with you, it's really very difficult!

Sort:  
 4 months ago  

I actually do need electricity very often. And that's why I am looking into investing in solar energy as that is more reliable than the electricity from the grid.

I really have not heard of any NGOs or international initiatives that offer grants here and actually work. People just have to find their own way around here. But of course, I am open to finding anyone of them. I am more interested in sourcing funds on my own and getting the solar energy system done as quickly as I can.

Maybe take a look at this NGO: SolarAid

I haven't looked at the site, so I don't know how they work. In any case, you're right to make it one of your priorities. I think it's really important to become as self-sufficient as possible and avoid relying too much on the government to do things: like having access to electricity for example.