Hive Naija Weekly Prompt | Edition 56 ~ But They Never Liked Me

in Hive Naija2 months ago

IMG_20240723_155339.jpg

Hello everyone, and my Hivenaija people, it's been a while since this space, been very busy and occupied with my life offline, but I am back now and I hope to be consistent as I have been able to settle a few of the things that took my time and took me away from this space.

So, I saw Hivenaija prompt question and decided to participate and I will be indulging in the question that says;

Have you ever gone out of your way to do something so you would seem "cool" to someone or a group of people or so they would like you? Is it something you've faced or still face?




So, I didn't know the other side of life or should I say, I did not know there was more to life and that not everyone who smiles at you meant their smiles until my family experienced death. Death came knocking and took away the most important, cherished, and treasured human in my life.

I began to see the world more and understood that life isn't just black and white, I understood so many things I was taught and learned the things I took for granted just to be able to survive in the world and I had to grow up and take up responsibility for myself and for my family and that alone changed my perspective about life the more.

I learned life the hard way and that broke me more than I had imagined, I experienced hardship and most especially got talked down not only by strangers but also by relatives, I was timid, and afraid and most especially did things to please people so I could be in their good book that I ended up regretting because those people either never saw it or took me for granted and it ended up smearing our relationship because whatever good I did turned bad when I needed it reciprocated back to me.




After I was done with my Senior Secondary School, I had to get a job, just so I could be able to pay up the debt I owed one of my maternal aunts, well, I had to borrow money from her to be able to write my (WEAC) West Africa Examination Council and (NECO) National Examination Council finish my senior secondary school since I wasn't ready to be a drop out after all the struggle, and stress I and my late father went through to get to that level and honestly, I wanted my father wherever he was to be proud of his daughter for not releasing effort in her education even when he wasn't alive to fulfill all the promises he made to her concerning her education.

I had to look for a job, after a month of staying at home after my Senior Secondary school and in my quest for a job, I had to leave home, although it was a hard one for my mom to take as I was still too young and her only female child but after realizing that if she doesn't let me go, there was no way our bills will be paid, our debt will be cleared and no way my other younger siblings could further their education as there were still very young to fend for themselves or even for anyone.




IMG_20240723_155306.jpg

I had to reach out to a friend who helped me and begged her sister to let me come live with them for a few months until I had enough money to rent my apartment and start living alone. Her sister accepted especially since she also knew me and in a few weeks, I relocated down to my new environment. It was a hectic one, especially after a few weeks, my friend's sister started complaining about everything and anything.

It was beginning to tell on me because I always had to stay out till late evening before I returned home, so by the time I was home, she was asleep or preparing to sleep, I stopped eating at home because I didn't have money to contribute to the feeding since I wasn't paid yet and she wasn't making it easier as she constantly nagged about how I was finishing the food in the house and not doing, adding or contributing anything to the house.




Her constant talk and nagging were beginning to tell on me because I had never been one to experience such an act, and never thought she would put up with such, we were all age mates, and I felt I was going to enjoy my few month accommodation with them, but it was the other way round. She locked food, always took the key with her to her workplace, and constantly complained about everything and anything I did.

Well, since she started complaining of how she was the only one bringing money for the house upkeep and yet still I couldn't help her as much as help her wash her dirty clothes, I decided to always do the laundry for her since I wasn't paid yet, and couldn't contribute to the house upkeep and that was how I started washing her dirty clothes, just so she could see me as a good person who just needs a place to lay her head on.




Well, unfortunately, we moved from washing just clothes to washing undies and that was the worst mistake I made, because any day I refused to wash her undies laundry, I couldn't as much eat the food she cooked because wouldn't let me and she would nag the other week about constantly remind me how I couldn't help her wash her undies but what to eat the food she made with her money.

I couldn't say anything because I didn't want to be sent out of the house, I had nowhere to stay, and when I finally got my pay for that month, I divided my pay and gave it to be added to the monthly upkeep for the house and moved out, and move into a colleague of mine house who was planning to leave the state but had yet to exhaust her house rent for that year. We met the owner of the house and she accepted that I could stay in the house till when her house rent expires if I decide to continue living in the compound after that, I just have to renew the rent and continue and that was how I was able to escape such life.




Here is the original post

Thank you for reading!!!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

This feels like a movie🥺
There are people out there like that?
Oh no, to the extent of even being asked to wash ladies undies? That’s really sad, I’m glad you got to move in the end