Recalling Some Childhood Memories

in Hive Naija15 days ago

Most of the things we do as adults is informed by the way we where brought up that is why it is good to create good environment for the kids. My parents did their best to make sure we are given the best in life. One of those days my Mom said, "no one will say she was not trained in school, she made a commitment with God to at least give all the children a basic education that's till university level even if it will take her selling her wrappers". Of a truth she kept to her words though it dis not get to the point of selling her wrappers but she let go of many convince to make sure we got to a great height.


Image Source

One thing that was a great ingredient in my upbringing was the fear of God. There is a place in the bible that says, the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom and the knowledge of the holy one is understanding. I was show the partway to God so early and I held on to that so dearly. You know there are people that the life they leave while they are with their parents is far different from what they leave while they are far from them. I did my best to keep to the words I heard from my parents and that informed the way I do things.

On my part I had every opportunity to disguise myself because I was in a strange land where there was no connection to my parents but I deliberately decided to represent them well. During my wedding my husband invited the chaplain from my school to come and minister, some of the things he said about me was so surprising because I never knew he was observing me to that point. So this same Fear of God is what I want to impact to my children. God's knowledge will guide anyone who gives himself to be guided by God, after all the bible says, train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old, he will not depart from it. Education is the best, but the foundation should be God. To the glory of God, I have my family already so it is not a wishful thing for me because they are already working in the way. My four year old son can resit memory verses more than some of those in primary and secondary school and when he is doing that the younger sister try to follow up.

I Was That Shy Type
Growing up, I noticed I was so timid and don't believe in myself. This made me that even when I have something to say due to the fact that I lack how to present myself I just decide to keep it to myself. My siblings will participate in bible quiz, come home with prizes and I was just there. When I took notice of that so well was in by SS1, one of the days I went to my friends church so I decided to be part of the bible quiz, as big as I was I messed up. Not that I was not prepared, but that stage fright didn't allow me to breath.

It was so bad and terrible, the congregation just clapped and I went to seat. Fast forward to this married age, I decided that I will make a difference. Since I got married till now I have been representing my Church in bible quiz competition. I also told myself that I will break my children out of timidity. I teach my boy memory verse and push him to stand in front of the public to present. They have that threat because almost for one year after they start school they don't respond in the class and that affects their performance.


Image Source

My mother did her best, due to the fact she was alone as my father died so early she didn't have all the time to pay attention to those details. Good enough I realized those things on time, I will be a total failure if I don't take good steps to help my kids.

My entry to the #hivenaija weekly contest and will also serve as my entry to the #inleo #aprilinleo daily prompt. Thank you for staying with me

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 14 days ago  

1000140008.gif

Thanks naija

This is really beautiful dear. I love how you strive to be the very best version of you and how you aim to inculcate it in your kid as well. All the best to you, dear. Your story is commendable!