My Voting experience

in Hive Naijalast month

THE VOTING THAT NEARLY COST MY LIFE!.

(image source is mine)

I registered for my voters card in 2014.But i have never cast any vote in my life!.This was because when PVC(Permanent voters card) are been issue to those who registered for it at the same polling unit with me, i was not at home, so nobody collected mine because i was in school.infact when i came home, i when to my polling until officer to asked for my PVC, they told me my that PVC was not there, i went to our state Secretariat the same thing was reported to me.My PVC cannot be found. So i let go of the 2015 election.
In 2018 i went to my state secretariat and did new registration for card lost and transfer my polling unit to another polling unit which seems to me better.
When they start issuing the cards to people, i hear of it and told my Dad to collect mine, because i was in school and before going back to school i left the registration slip for the lost card with my him, because i knew it well that i may not be home when they may start issuing the PVC.

So when i told my Dad to collect my card, he went to their office (INEC) to collect my PVC, on reaching there they asked him to provide the registration slip, but he could not find where he drop it.Even when he got home, he search everywhere but couldn't find it and that was his report to me.I was speechless no knowing what to do again, and that was how i couldn't exercise my franchise for 2019 election as well.
The worst of it all is the 2023 election... My first significant experience.
I only heard of the kind of bad things thay happen during election, this time i did not only heard but i witness it myself!

For the 2023 election, i am so passionate to cast my vote, though i don't have my PVC.So while the election (Governorship election) was still going on, one of our neighbors informed me that i can cast my vote with the paper slip since i still have mine for the 2014.
I jump up with joy ready to go and cast my first franchise ever.
When i reach my polling unit,people have start casting their votes and the election was still ongoing some guys wanted to cause trouble and not quiet long the soldiers men came around and the election continued peacefully.

In that regard the soldiers men left, leaving behind the police men.
Not up to five minutes, those guys that wanted stirring trouble came in again declaring:
If you are not voting for this candidate, go back home, no election for you. It was like a joke other supporting party also raised their voice that this cannot be possible.
Before i knew it, those troublesome guys carry the ballot papers and tear them into pieces, and the ballot box smashed to the ground, the atmosphere was so tense, people started fighting.
I don't have strength to fight, and this is my first day in life coming to cast my vote.
I was just standing and hiding near a tree trying to do video coverage for the event when one of the guys spotted me and start chasing after me.
I thank God i escape that day, as one of those policemen came to recused me from the hands of those wicked guys as the jump on me with beating.
That's was the vote i couldn't cast.i returned home regretful yet grateful to God.

Sort:  

Congratulations @josephallu! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Oh
Thank you so much

You're welcome buddy 🤝