The promise

in Hive Naija15 days ago

Image source

Relationship is an interesting journey that involves two or more parties. It is usually full of fun when both parties involved have a genuine motive.

Relationships are not meant to be one-sided. It must be reciprocated - whereby both parties must have an equal level of love for each other. Once it becomes one-sided it is no longer enjoyable, rather, it will be endurable.

Some relationships end before starting, while some end after a little time. Many broken relationships are as a result of poor foundation and also, selfish interests.

“Have you ever been beaten by a guy before?”

To be beaten by a guy all in the name of a relationship?

“God forbid! The first time he tries, will be the end of the relationship.”

Most relationships end in silly ways or for silly reasons.

Just like mine. I met the guy some years after we broke up and we just laughed over our time together in the past.

I used to be a very stubborn girl during my secondary school days. As in, I walked with a funny motto,

"No gree for anybody"

It was like an anthem for me.

I was the most stubborn among my friends back then in secondary school. We would always fight with boys who looked for our trouble and every one of us were boxer but this was unknown to my classmates, the males included. We were always in action. Any small talk that does not suit us will result in a fight. We were very brilliant but we didn't allow anyone to cheat us.

Are you wondering why girls like us decided to be fighters?

There was a reason behind it.

There was a new girl in our school then called Peju. She joined our set when we were 2nd term in the SS1 Commercial class. She was very social and we became friends. Months later, she started complaining about a boy in our class named Kingsley who bullied her. He would stop her on her way to school, collect her money and threaten her never to disclose to anyone else he was going to rape her.

Whenever Peju complains about Kingsley, she will not tell us what he has been doing to her. She'd only tell us that she does not like him. I didn't know why and I decided to make more findings.

Usually, after school closing hours, I wait back for about an hour before going home because that was the only time I could meet someone at home. One of those days, I was inside a class in the junior school block reading a storybook because I love reading in a quiet place when I heard a shout from the next class.

Please, it's my mum's change. Please, don't go with it. Please! I'm pleading!”

I could hear fear in the village voice and I quickly ran to see what was happening. I was so shocked to see who it was.

Immediately, I ran to the scene and Kingsley shouted angrily at me.

I was shocked when I tried to see who the person was.

” What are you looking for?”

I ignored him and focused on my friend.

"What happened?" I asked her.

“Please, tell him to give me my mum's change. I will explain everything to you later,” she said, panicking.

Immediately I turned to collect the money from him, he tore the 100 naira into two and threw it on Peju's face.

My face turned red and instantly, I dragged his shirt from the back. My hand was almost landing on his page when something just flashed through my mind. I remembered that I had promised Osas never to get involved in a fight again.

I let him go and calmed myself down.

Osas was my boyfriend. Our relationship was just a week old when I discovered that Kingsley had been bullying my friend.
Osas begged me to stop fighting with anyone that wronged me but rather I should report them to him because he was our class captain. I promised him that I would stop fighting.

Kingsley's case made me make up my mind about ending the relationship between me and Osas.

The following morning I gave Osas the breaking news and explained to him how the past week had made me feel like a bird that was being caged. I needed to fight.
He begged and begged, telling me how he was ready to help me work out things, but I refused.

Peju came to school the following day and explained how Kingsley had been tormenting and bullying her.

We planned how to deal with Kingsley and we gave him the beating of his life days later. I made sure his head was swollen and there was this kind of joy I felt inside of me.

I didn't have any relationship with anyone again in my school because I saw it as being a cage and I wasn't ready for such.

Thanks for reading

Here is my response to Hive Naija Weekly Prompt | Edition 46

Sort:  

It is not wrong to fight. It is wrong to start a fight. You helped your friend. Someone that really needed help. Sometimes talking just can't solve everything. You did what you had to do. You're a great friend to have.

In the case of Kingsley talking is not allowed but a little violence will do the needful and the settlement. Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate your comment.

Sometimes talking isn't just enough, yeah but it's advisable to just focus on academics when one is in high school to avoid distractions, this was beautifully written.

Distractions are somehow allowed in some cases because that's the fun part in high school but distractions should not be more the focus.
Thanks for your encouragement.