MY JOURNEY TO FREEDOM.

in Hive Naija27 days ago

Hello everyone, how are you all doing and hope you all are having a great week,
I want to appreciate the moderator of the hive Naija community for presenting us with interesting topics and for supporting and encouraging our efforts in becoming better writers.

Well I will be writing on the topic :
first experience with something significant (e.g., Voting, traveling solo, public speaking, etc).

I will be sharing my first experience traveling solo. I started traveling solo in 2018 when I was going for my post UTME exams in Delta state from Lagos. I was really excited because I will at least have an atom of freedom for the first time although I didn't know the exact location the school was but I was excited either way, I couldn't even sleep the night before my journey, though I have traveled a couple of times but this particular journey felt special. I was awake all through the road. I was marking the road just in case.
The journey was long but fun because of the people I met in the bus, for the first time I was free and could talk freely with people around me, the conversation keep me awake all through the journey while others were sleeping, it was as if the journey shouldn't end but it had to come to an end, i got to Delta state at about 6:30pm, then I continued my journey on my own and i discovered that I still have another journey ahead which was the scary part of the journey.

After trying to get direction to the school from people around, I finally got to understand that the school was located on an island somewhere in warri Delta state and I can only get there by speed boat I was confused as it wasn't in the school website,but I had no choice but to follow the directions I have been given, on getting to the jetty they've closed but I was lucky enough to see a boat going to my destination, we were only four in the boat and I was really scared since it's my first time on boat and I don't know how to swim, I payed and we continued the journey getting half way the engine of our boat develop fault the driver had to find a way to fix it as we were in the middle of no where, we were surround by water no land or houses I became more scared when rain started with the situation at hand I thought it was a planned work to kidnap or kill me so I started praying silently,the woman beside me noticed I was scared and asked if it was my first time on a boat or my first time going to the school I told her yes and she consoled me ,and told me not to worry that we will be fine and that she is a non academic staff of the school I don't know why but I felt a bit relief though I didn't really trust her but I just felt relaxed a bit a journey that was supposed to take us 1:30 we ended up spending 3hrs imagine I got on board the boat by 6:45 and I got to my destination at about 10:45 I definitely can't forget that experience because I cried when the boat stopped, but all thanks to God we got to our destination safe and I was not kidnap and we were not attack by pirate.

Ever since then I have been traveling on my own and it has always been fun. I really do enjoy traveling.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Imagine traveling by boat for the first time and to a place you have never been before, suddenly the boat developed fault inside the water..hmmmm, I would have been more scared than you keecee. That's quite terrifying but the woman did well by consoling you, you felt a bit relieved and that's great 😃👍
It must have been an experience you can't forget in a hurry
Let's say, it's also an adventure after all 😃

It's been 5years now and I can still remember every detail of that day

Chai hope your heart didn't come out from your chest, cause I can't imagine you entering the boat for the first time and being calm it isn't like that, my first time entering the speed boat, my aunt hugged me till we got to our destination😁😁

Lolz I could remember the weather was cold but I was sweating plus the breeze 😂😂

😁😁😁

Wow never knew post utme can take some one far like nysc, how was ur trip to delta its a beautiful place have been there couple of times

It can take you far depending on the school of your choice, the journey was actually fun though

 26 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif