He thought ‘Id Get Lost

in Hive Naijalast month (edited)

Hello again Hive Naijans. This week's prompt is one I could not wait to hop on.

Write about your experience with something significant.

I thought I was already used to traveling but I was wrong. Thinking back, except for when I returned home from school as a student, I never really packed a suitcase and wandered around the world alone.

IMG_5001_Original.jpeg

Even after marriage, I never traveled without my husband. So I got used to the luxury of him making all the arrangements. From booking our trips, passports, accommodation, transit, and even down to our meals. As such, I didn't have to take note of anything. I simply enjoyed the princess treatment because after all, I’m royalty. Hehe!

One day, I had an emergency. I needed to travel to my parents to sort out some things. It was a matter of time and urgency. We didn't plan for it and my husband could not come with me. I had to do it all alone. I remember the look on his face the night before my trip. “Once I drop you off at the airport, you are going to be all by yourself.”

I looked at him and nodded. At that moment I had this hilarious picture of myself standing in the middle of a jungle and not knowing how to navigate the wild creatures. “I can take care of myself,” I replied firmly. I didn't want him to believe that I dreaded the moment he'd leave me by myself.

I did several mental preparations before the day came. One thing I love so much about myself, when something feels daunting, I like to prove to myself that I can do it. And so I did.

exported_E43A7F23-3616-449F-81E1-60DCA512D1C5 Copy.png

I calmed my nerves as I looked around. Everyone appeared like they had it all figured out so I tagged along with a brave face. I would occasionally note the people on my route while keeping my eyes on the FIDS and pass at the same time. In a nutshell, I just followed all the instructions and announcements. Voila, just like that, I was already locating my seat and fitting my luggage in its compartment. My husband did one final check-in with me before taking off. “You aren't lost are you?” was the first thing he said.

IMG_4997_Original.jpeg

I merely smiled even though he couldn't see it. “I told you that there is nothing I can't do. I often let you take the lead because that's your role.”

He laughed and I felt relieved. I relaxed into the moment as I enjoyed the rest of my trip. Every bit of it. I longed for the food because I was famished for staying alert and taking note of everything. That moment made me appreciate my husband more. I began to reminisce about our previous trips together. I would always stuff the extra fillings and toppings in my bag while my husband teased. “What? We paid,” I'll always say as I take pictures of him munching away. This time, I smiled and ate in silence.

IMG_5212_Original.jpeg

When I arrived, I sighed a sigh of relief. I did it alone. To others, it was just catching the next flight. But to me, it was conquering the world.

When it was time to return, alone again, I was so confident that ladies and gentlemen, I forgot my luggage at the airport. I kept feeling off as I boarded my connecting flight until I realized I wasn't holding my hand luggage. Hehe! That part is a story for another day.


photos are from my gallery

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

This was such a coincidence. So my boyfriend picks me up most times and he’s away so I had to come home myself and if I should tell you the stress that I went through. I was on the road for over 2 hours meanwhile it’s supposed to be a 30 minutes or less journey. I’m glad you were able to do it on your own but today has reminded me that I’m still a baby. And of course, I appreciate my man better now.

Oh my gosh we are so spoilt. I thought it was just me. Look how you ended up spending two whole hours. We need to give these guys their flowers. They sure do a lot.

Thank you so much for stopping by.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@kei2, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @abenad and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Yeah they do, you’re welcome

Hehehehe, sometimes it's good to just do things on our own because we never know what tommorw holds. Even at home, I try learning few things my husband do just in case he travel tomorrow and such a thing becomes so important but no one to do it. I am glad to hear that you did this one yourself, going forward, you find ease at any trip all alone

As in! That was an extreme sport. Hehe. I know better now and I certainly appreciate him. I learnt a life lesson after that day. Now I have no problems traveling alone. In fact, we must plan our next trip together.

Thank you !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@kei2, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @nkemakonam89 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

 last month  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

My pleasure.

Ouch! I was most relieved that you did great back and forth till you mentioned the hand luggage you left behind🤧.
In all you did beautifully. I know for sure it will not repeat itself, it comes with the territory of doing something new. I know so well of the feeling that something is amis till you find out what. Thank goodness it's just luggage.🤗

Hehe! That part. I thought it was going to be hitch-free until that happened. And yes, in all, it was an adventure that taught me lessons.

Thank you for this beautiful comment.

My pleasure.