Sweetest of weekends

in Hive Naija β€’ 13 days ago

Greetings everyone πŸ™Œ

I'm sure it's not just me who finds it hard to travel home because when I go, it becomes hard also to pick my bag to travel back to base.

During a period last year, my parents called and requested my presence for some minor family gathering that normally don't require everyone to gather. I didn't buy the idea at first, but after much thought, I gave in to their demand to spend the weekend with them. It isn't bad to spend two days with family, after all, I hadn't been traveling home much.

On Friday evening, I packed my stuff in a very small bag and left for the journey, which lasted for 2 hours. I arrived around 7:00 pm, and everywhere was shining with light (electricity), which I don't often see in my place.

PSX_20240418_083200.jpg

You know that kind of feeling? I rushed to my room first and plugged in my three power banks before going to greet my parents. While I was plugging in my gadgets, my siblings were laughing at me and telling me not to rush because electricity is like sunlight in the daytime and moonlight at night. I didn't believe them; I didn't want to take any chances where I needed to buy fuel to make electricity to power my gadgets.

PSX_20240315_090328.jpg

I was well-fed that night. In my house, I have access to the kitchen, so I made sure I had my dinner there(in the kitchen) that night, with a serve-and-eat method. It feels so good to eat food you didn't prepare, without worrying about how much was used to prepare it.

The night was sweet; there was light all through, and I barely slept because I was up, with my phone plugged in, completing all the tasks online I usually leave pending due to how I conserve battery at my base.

The following day, which was Saturday, my parents came and said that if I didn't want to, I need not follow them to the occasion, which was the reason I went home. Yo! I was happy because I wasn't interested in going for any family gathering, meeting many uncles who would ask me to buy them drinks, without considering whether I had the money or not. That's one thing about people in the village; they always think that once someone is living in the city, the person has a tree where he plucks money.

I was so happy and quickly bought the idea of not going out. There was light and there was food; I didn't see any reason to go outside.

That Saturday happened like I traveled to Croatia for holidays. Everything I needed was available. My siblings were around, and I enjoyed cracking them up with laughter at one point or another.

I don't like watching movies, I mean Nollywood movies, but I decided to do that to have a feeling of how it used to be in the early days when I was still living in the family house. That Saturday, I joined them in the parlour, and we all watched movies from the Free To Air Channels. We played loud music also.

On Sunday, we went to church, exchanged greetings, which I absolutely enjoyed. We returned, ate food like there was no tomorrow, and pressed the hell out of my phone.

When it came to the evening when I was supposed to go back, I saw the whole thing: the always-available light, the free food. I wished the weekend could continue.

I couldn't go back that Sunday. Yeah, I spent one more night, and it was the following day, Monday, very early, that I traveled back to base. I made sure I charged all my power banks and phone to 100%, and I wished it was possible to capture the electricity and take it to my base.

Thank you for reading.

This is my entry to Hivenaija prompt of the week

All Images are mine

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort: Β 

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ you can make it a habit of going down every weekend na, so that you can power your gadgets freely.

I can relate to such a weekend, where there's unlimited supply of food, power supply and a cozy atmosphere.. that's ballin oπŸ˜‚

I should be like timaya, that goes to London to charge his phone always πŸ˜…

!BBH

@beckyroyal! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (6/20)

Exactly na πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ‘

Wait what the hell are you doing with three power banks when I'm looking for one. And you didn't drop update before living, so I could tag along, not good at all

LolπŸ˜…
Powerbank is my all time life support here.
I don't see light like you guys.
I'm even planning on topping it with another bigger one

Thank you boss.
!BBH

@kilvnrex! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (4/20)

The feeling of being around one's family after a long time is so good and you'd want to stay longer because you have missed everyone.

I can relate, we do not joke with power supply here because we do not get so much of it.

Yes ooo!
That Feeling is always sweeeeet!

For Power supply; some parts of Nigeria know nothing like blackout. You're probably in those placesπŸ˜…

Thank you bro
!BBH

@psalmmy264! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (5/20)

I understand the joy you feel seeing free electricity that doesn't go out. I've been there.
You should try going home more often as it's 2hours journey.

Yeah, 2hrs journey,
But the current transport fare, it's not enticing πŸ˜…

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ The rate of transportation is something else.

Honestly, it's choking

Β 13 days agoΒ Β 

Voted by Hive Naija.gif