About A Town In My Country - The Need To Improve

in Hive Naija13 days ago

I saw today's prompt and I thought about the town I'll be living in for the next one year, I feel I should write about what I think needs improvements here even though my hometown would need some too. It's been like many years ago since I last visited my hometown and so I'm not sure if there have been more improvements than I remember witnessing.

The truth is, even in a nice place, there is always room for improvements. But there are a lot of places I've visited in my part of the country and it seem to me that they need same kind of improvements.

20240425_164939_0000.jpg
Images were generated and designed on canva

Well, I'll be focusing on the town I'm living in right now and will be living for the coming months. It's a town in a state I've never visited before until I was called to serve my country and posted here. Like the town I was living in before I came here, this place has few reasons for me to like it here and also few reasons to not like it.

It is a town dominated by the Igbo tribe that you'd hardly not hear 9 out of 10 persons speaking in his or her dialect even in their schools. And to me, this is one of the things that needs an improvement. I've come to understand that the people haven't been made to understand the importance of Education which is expected in such a rural area but staying in this position for too long won't be good for the future of the place to an extent.

Aside that, there's one problem that many other towns have and this town isn't excluded... The problem of "No electricity".

Ever seen a town with so many street lights but no electricity for the habitants?

I was so happy when I first came to such a town that had such beautiful road ways but was heartbroken to find out that there had been no light and the street lights were solar charged owned by one rich man living in the town. At least, he thought about how dark roads get when it's night and came up with such an idea which has been helping the town.

The next step should be how to improve on the electricity. Even though the country is going to a level of relying on solar energy, it is going to take a longer time for some town and so the need for electricity provision. As an habitant in the town, I have to find places to charge up my devices and sometimes, I'll have to pay for water to use since some would have to use money to fuel their engine in pumping water.

Living is harder without electricity and even though it won't sort all the problems of man, it's definitely going to help in saving more and giving more back to the community. If this town would have electricity even though not steady, it would be a remarkable improvement for the habitants.

Another area the town needs improvement is on... The problem of "Bad roads"

IMG_20220621_133937.jpg
Image is mine

I can still remember my first time traveling from my state to where the town where I was posted to, the road was so bumpy that the vehicle almost fell myself with the loads I carried. The journey from the capital city to that town was not so far but the bad roads made it seem like a forever journey.

I can't even start counting the disadvantages these bad roads have made people in the town experience like loss of goods in transportation or more expenses as they have to pay higher to get across these roads to their destination.

The town has so much to keep the inhabitants going but there is need for improvement in these areas I've mentioned. It would be in their favour if these things are put in place.

This is my entry to the Inleo prompt challenge with a focus on "Things that can be improved in your town" and you are invited to participate too.

20240101_094050_0000.jpg

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Poor electricity and bad roads, bad combination.

Since you didn't mention water scarcity, I think it's a relatively good thing because if that is added to the existing combo U mentioned, it would be disastrous.
Seriously, we should have gone beyond not having this basic necessities but our country never fails to make little problems seem mighty.

Well, good luck with your service and I hope you get to a better town by the time you are done.

Lol not a good combo at all, thankfully we don't struggle much to get water here but I wish it was much easier than it is though.

Lack of constant electricity is a potential problem because it ends up triggering other problems. As for terrible roads, this seems to be another recurring problem in many countries.

A lot of problems are triggered indeed, hopefully these things would be improved on.

Electricity issue and the road issue was very common in my country 12 years ago. Fortunately both kind of problem in my country already solved but because of that economical condition the electricity issue reappeared again after 12 years which is very bad. So I can understand the problem and sufferings you guys face in daily life. I just hope both kind of problem will be solved as soon as possible.

It's good the problem was solved eventually in your country, we're still hoping it is solved here.

Hehe, when you were saying you didn't like where you were posted i thought you were joking oo, all of this problems in that small town? It is well for real.

!PIZZA

Ahhh it's real o
Me that I'm tempted to think of getting a solar system like this 😅

😂 😂 Go for it na, our whale.

Lol lemme o 😂😂

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@b0s(1/5) tipped @merit.ahama

https://inleo.io/threads/merit.ahama/re-merit-ahama-2bsdvdehn
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( merit.ahama ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.