Reflecting On My Upbringing; Being Industrious And An Independent Woman Has Shaped My Life

in Hive Naijalast month

Tell us about one part of your upbringing that you love so much and would like to replicate in your children. And also tell us about one part you never want to recreate in bringing up your child

Growing up as a child,I found my parents as a very industrious set of people... They are never idle especially my mom... There was never a day that she wouldn't do something different.... Infact she was all round just to make sure the family is going well....
For my dad, he just maintained one line of business that he is into and he doesn't want to do more.... So most of what I learnt, I got it from my mom..

My mom will always tell me... I know you are going to school and very soon you will want to depend on government salaries but she said that government work isn't guaranteed that the best thing for me to do is to have a good hardwork or skills that I can use as a backup or side hustle when there's no work.... And that as helped me alot.

At a very tender age, I saw my mom doing a lot of businesses till the point that I can assure you that I didn't know the main thing that my mom was into, but today... This things has been a source of income to her...

Firstly, I will be writing on the upbringing that I loved so much that my parents embedded in me...
I love the fact that my parents made me learned a lot of skills at a very tender age

You see this particular upbringing... I will make sure my children follow it because I don't want my children to enter university without learning any skills... I want them to be industrious and independent... Even at school they can be doing one thing or the other for their classmates... That is source of income....

The first skill I learnt from my mom was sewing...
pexels-photo-6770991.jpegsource

At this point, I can't tell you that I am a perfect fashionista but I can tell you that I can sew my own clothes and wear..
Since my mom was a busy business woman, she employed someone else to teach me how to sew and today, I can sew for myself, and every other person around me... But one thing I know for sure is that, I will definitely go for an upgrade once I have money.... I will be doing very well in the fashion industry and that will be a source of income to me and my side hustle....
My children must learn how to sew too for their own good... At first I didn't like it, but when I went into it fully... I can tell you for free that it is fun...

Baking

pexels-photo-3893691.jpegsource

This particular one was my mom's favorite, every morning,she will woke up and tell me to help her out in baking meat pies,fish rolls, chicken pies, cup cakes, name it... I always admire her strength so much and how she always do this thing...
Helping her everyday in most of her orders made me also grow into loving baking... We had all the instruments for it and at my free time I will learn some new basic skills and today... Even if I finish school and I don't see work, I go explore the world of baking and I will be doing very well...
My mom always applaud me for being a sharp learner I Also thank her for giving me the opportunity to learn because most parents usually pamper their children saying it is stress....

This is what I don't want to recreate in my children
There is this part of my upbringing that I will never recreate in my children upbringing... The act of fear.....
I grew up seeing my parents always yelling and shouting at everything especially my mom.. she wouldn't want to hear your explanation she will jump into conclusion...I don't say that what they did was wrong... Is just that they made us Afraid of them... They made us ti grow and solve our problems by ourselves....
I was always scared of talking to my parents about what ever that is happening to me...
So, I lived in a world of loneliness,I was depressed... I was timid.... Though that made me stronger today and learned to face my problems and stand up for myself....

I don't want that to happen to my children, I will scold them, I will beat them when necessary and I will always make sure I am accessible so that my children can easily get to me when they have issues or challenges.... I won't compare them to anyone or judge them because this are things my mom usually does that I never liked....

Thank you for reading and stopping by ❣️
I really appreciate.

@mmenyene cares ❣️

Posted Using InLeo Alpha