Are igbo tribalistic? Yes or No? Here's my perspective

in Hive Naija2 months ago
On that important day, I received a call-up letter from NYSC. Initially, I had already paid for a direct posting to Ogun State, which is a Yoruba land, to serve. Sadly, when I printed out my call-up letter, it showed Imo State instead. I was very upset and felt like crying. Do you know why? It's because I would be leaving Yoruba land for Igbo land, which I had never visited before. It would be a new atmosphere, new environment, new culture, and meeting new people. I wondered how I would manage and cope with life over there. But I had no choice but to obey the clarion call to serve. So, I went to the Imo camp.

Arriving at Imo camp, we were told that relocation forms would be given to anyone who wanted to move elsewhere. I felt really happy hearing this news. The state coordinator and her people told us if we can forget about relocating and serve in Imo, we would enjoy the state. That's when I started thinking differently.
Should I get the form and leave Imo state, or should I stay? I was unsure and very confused. Due to the rumours out there where most people say igbo people are tribalistic.

IMG-20240420-WA0037.jpg

Up there is my IGBO friend I met in IMO CAMP

I listened to my heart. I decided not to relocate and everything was going well in the camp. Three weeks passed, for those of us who didn't obtain the relocation form, we were deployed to our primary place of assignment (PPA).

To make a long story short, I left for my PPA feeling sad, going to a new city I know nobody makes me feel unhappy.
I reached a park and looked for a motorcycle to take me to my local government area, Ehime Mbano. I was initially charged too much by some bike men. But I know this happens in many parts of the country. When transporters see a stranger, they sometimes try to take advantage. Luckily, I met another okada rider, a kind and God fearing man, who asked about me. I told him I'm a corper assigned to this state. Upon hearing this, he invited me to ride on his motorcycle and took me to my local government. He was very kind to me, even though it took me some time to find where I needed to go. He didn't get angry like other motorcycle riders might have. He was patient and made sure I reached my destination safely.

  NEW LIFE IN EHIME MBANO

I realized that to enjoy the new community I was in, I needed to make new friends instead of being alone all day. As days went by, I started making new friends. The whole community accepted me and the other corpers so much that whenever we went to the market, they either lowered the prices for us or added extra things to what we bought from the market women.

IMG-20240420-WA0038.jpg

Above is my IGBO friend I met in Ehime mbano.

There was even a woman at the market who would sell goods to us on credit. Whenever myself and my friends were broke, we were always calm knowing we had someone to rely on. She sold things to us on credit, and when we received our allowance, we paid off our debts. We built such a good relationship with her that she trusted us completely.

On another note, when we needed to charge our gadgets. A place for people to charge is already assigned. But there was a spot where nobody else could enter to plug in their devices. The owner of the shops always welcomed us and gave us permission to go in and charge. She never once denied us the opportunity to charge our gadgets in that spot where nobody else was allowed. We always have it on our mind that there's no need to rush down to the place, because whenever the charging space assigned was full, we had someone to go to who would allow us plugged our gadgets in the spot nobody is allowed to.

Through these experiences, I realized that the things people say about the Igbo being tribalistic are false. Based on what I've experienced and continue to experience here in Imo State, I can confidently say that it's not true.

So, when people from other tribes start saying negative things about Igbo people being tribalistic, I can speak up and share my own positive experiences to show that tribalism is not the reality.
The place I didn't want to go to at first has become my home now. I feel like I'm truly at home.

Let's say no to tribalism. Thank you.
All images are mine.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/monsoor1/re-monsoor1-2q8zu5foh
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( monsoor1 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

This is beautiful to read, sometimes our negative expectations are as a result of false generalisations propagated widely about a group.
Thankfully, you had a nice time and found a new home.

Exactly my dear brother... Thanks 👏

Congratulations @monsoor1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge