When the Weekend Was Mine | Edition 42

in Hive Naija15 days ago

it was the perfect weekend for me, even though I was left alone at home. My parents had gone to visit a relative in my mom's village and wouldn't be back until the next week. My older brother, who was supposed to stay with me, had left for Port Harcourt to attend my cousin's wedding, so I was left alone to take care of home.

Earlier, my parents had insisted I go with them, but after listening to my many excuses for not wanting to travel, they decided to leave me in the care of my older brother, assuming I would tag along with him to the wedding. However, they were mistaken, I had other plans.

After they left, my big brother called me to pack my bag and dress up, as we would be sleeping over at my cousin's place after the wedding. We?? Who are we?? I thought to myself.

"Definitely not stepping a foot out of this house," I murmured.

When my big brother saw I was reluctant to dress up, he began questioning why I didn't want to go with our parents or him. Once again, I recited the many excuses I had prepared for moments like this. But he wasn't having any of it.

With a stern look, he told me that if I didn't go to my room to dress up by the count of ten, he would have no choice but to drag me to the bus stop in my messy hair and nightwear.

I stood there, trying to come up with another escape plan, and finally remembered I had an exam the next week. Why didn't I think of this earlier? With a smirk on my face, I rushed to give the final excuse, hoping it would work. And yes, it did.

I told my brother I had an exam the following week, so I needed to stay home over the weekend to prepare. After much back and forth, he decided to let me be. After all, I was old enough to take care of myself and the home.

With happiness written all over my face and body, I saw him off to the bus park, knowing it was about to be the most exciting weekend for me.

For the past few years, my sisters got married and left home. I always dreaded weekends because I spent most of my time during those days attending to chores. On other weekends when I had fewer chores and errands to take care of, my sisters always sent my little nephews and nieces to come stay with me.

So, the reason why I wanted to stay home and not go with my parents or brother was quite understandable.

After seeing my brother off to the park, I hurried home, smiling like a sheep. Honestly, I had no plans of studying—the examination was a mock exam, which I wasn't sure would be held. I just wanted the whole house to myself and to experience what being alone and not being at people's beck and call felt like.

I'm not lazy, but I honestly needed a break from everyone to find myself. Since I wasn't allowed to sleep over at my sisters' places whenever I visited them because I was the only girl left at home to help my mom, it was a good thing they left the house to me.

source
I attended to the few chores left at home, had my bath, and fortunately, there was power supply. I relaxed and watched my favorite shows, read interesting stories, played solo dress-up, and enjoyed the ideal me-time I had always dreamed of—free of interruptions and distractions.

It was a Friday, so I still had two days left before my parents returned. I made the best use of the weekend to relax, unwind, and engage in every fun activity I loved.

It was like a mini solo vacation for me, and I wished it never ended. But then, you can't always run away from reality. My parents and brother did return, and things went back to normal. It was the best weekend for me. I don't know about you

cover image from freepik

Posted Using InLeo Alpha