Taking Action for Our Planet: Small Steps, Big Impact

in Hive Naija12 days ago

I remember correcting some women and young people in my community to desist from trashing their used plastic and nylon on our street, but I received insults in return. The thing is that people are not so aware of the health risks of plastics to the human body and how our actions can directly and indirectly affect our health. And so, I didn't feel bad about their actions but played my part by requesting that our chairman allow me to speak about the implications of how the community members litter the whole environment during our monthly community meeting. It's Earth Day, all thanks to Senator Gaylord Nelson for creating this day to celebrate and protect our planet for our own good.


As long as you exist on this earth, the planet is for us all, and protecting it should be one of our priorities. I am not even an environmentalist, but it's crazy how I don't resist correcting both my family and outsiders whenever they pollute the earth and litter the environment in my presence. At least two times, I have stopped my husband from using his car when the exhaust got bad. Driving such a car on the road will simply pollute the environment and affect people's health. I once had the experience while I was pregnant, and after perceiving the smoke from a car exhaust, I fell ill for days. I also have a bore hole in my home, and that makes it possible for me to have enough water right?, but yet, I try to conserve water as a way to protect our planet. Our little actions matters!


Protecting our planet begins with you and me. How often we buy plastics and polythene in the market will tell the industry their production rate. Since we can't stop their production, we can reuse most of these materials instead of always buying them, and this way, the quantity that circulates in our environment will be reduced, thereby protecting our planet from the harmful effects of plastics. There's one particular food in my country called moi moi, also known as bean pudding, most people, including big restaurants, use plastics to cook this food, and it gives it a nice shape. However, the very day I read about how toxic chemicals are being released from plastics into our food and water,I stopped using plastic to prepare this particular food. I think the effect is even worse when heated. I believe most people still using it are ignorant of the harmful effects.


The way we dispose of plastic in our environment is a big concern, as this gets into the ocean and causes harm to our system. Here in Lagos State, Nigeria, where I reside, the government is a bit strict on littering the environment with plastic and nylon, and anyone caught is made to pay a fine. This rule combats this act to some extent, especially on our major roads, but when you come to the streets, you will find tons of plastic and polythene littered everywhere. Most of them block the gutters and, thereafter, cause erosion as well.

pexels-anntarazevich-7772006.jpg


One thing I started doing to reduce the quantity of plastics I buy at home is using a water dispenser that has a big reservoir and can last my little ones longer than bottled water, which litters the plastics around after use. By taking this action, I have cut down on the single use of plastic. Also, buying more fruits for smoothie drinks instead of plastic carbonated drinks is another practice I observe, and I believe this activity helps combat the spread of plastics from my end.
Reusing my market bags has become a lifestyle. It does not only save money but also helps reduce how these polythenes circulate in our environment. Building a plastic-free planet may not be possible, but plastic circulation can be reduced in our environment for a healthier life.


Recently, a friend complained of a heatwave in their country and some news of heatstroke cases. We keep cutting trees for our own benefit, especially in developed cities, but nature will always have a way of showing its effect. Deforestation has been a problem the world is having when it comes to protecting our planet, but as much as we may not be able to stop anyone from building, moderating it by the government, or replanting the trees elsewhere to substitute for the ones destroyed, can help to some extent. Also, planting some kind of tree in our home and streets looks helpful.


IMG_20240202_124928.jpg


Protecting the planet matters to everyone, both in our homes, in our communities, and even in our offices.There are many common practices, aside from the ones I discussed above, in which we can all get involved in order to conserve our planet, and by doing so, we're making our world a happier and healthier place to live. Overall, the need to create awareness on this subject among those who are deformed cannot be overstated.

Image 2, other Images are mine

This post was inspired by the #inleo community and my entry to the #Aprilinleo monthly topic Day 22.Please check out the announcement post to get involved.

Thanks for reading through ♥️♥️♥️

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 11 days ago  

You actually do quite a lot for your environment o. I mean, there are more intense approaches—sadly, we don't do them as a people—these little things count and contribute in some way. I love how you reduce plastic waste she that you're teaching your kids in some way, too.

With the help of the government, the more intense approach will become easier to achieve but in our ends as individuals, we can start with the little we can observe.
Thanks for visiting the robotic jay 😌

I know by now, you will be thinking of how ur robots will do this particular job for u in the future...lolz

 6 days ago  

Normal normal. 😂
I will actually use robots in my home if I can

The heat index here in the Philippines reach as high as 42 degrees.. Even I stayed under the trees, I can feel the heat. I hope everyone have the desires like yours to conserve the earth in their own little way.

Oh my goodness 🤭
That's severe..so sorry about the discomfort in your country concerning the heat
I hope it doesn't last long

We are waiting for the rain to come.It never drop since November last year.

That's sad
I hope it showers soon
Such a natural gift from God
!PIZZA

Modernization has put the human race in lots of harm yet it's inevitable. Plastics contains chemicals and somehow a lot of people are ignorantly consuming them.

What happened to leaves like our parents did, what happens to using tin that can be reused several times without it melting or affecting us.

Earth is our home indeed and the early we take charge of maintaining it, the better for us. I hope a lot people get to read this and learn very important lessons.

Indeed George...most of us are carried away with the modernized world without seiving out the things that could affect our health, however some people are out of ignorance and more reasons why awareness should always be embraced
Thanks for coming around
!PIZZA

Plastic waste is actually something that’s killing us a lot today. We mostly store and buy our foods as hot as they are in plastic bags. If only people knew how much damage they are causing to themselves.

Looking back,I’m just thinking of those days we use to eat from polythene and even chew it.😂😂😂

Haha 😆😆😂, I also looked back and nodded my head 😂
The things we do out if ignorance
Lolz

😂😂it’s really funny thinking about it now.

Ma’am you said people don’t know the effects of plastics on their health?
No o don’t believe that 😂
Trust me they know a lot , they just need canes
As an environmentalist, it’s really disheartening to hear people say they know the consequences of what they are doing to the earth but the earth is too big so like pouring small rubbish in a gutter won’t do anything

Haha, I said "some people", haha, which is quite true but then, I am sure that many people who are aware of the effects still doesn't care..they are the ones that needs cane 😂😂
So please Environmentalist Abenad, get long canes for them , haha 😂

I need to get some from Nigeria because the Ghana ones are not hard enough🤣

Haha 😂😂😂
I got you covered ON that.LOLZ

There are many shops here that sells varieties of cane, especially in bookshops...I can even waybill them if you pay in HBD😌😌🤣

This is where I vanish🤣

Hahaha 🤣🤣🤣
You haven't seen anything..lolz
Stop vanishing please 🥺🤣

Nature will return to was that thing which we provide to nature. If we provide good treatment then we will receive the best treatment from nature but from the opposite case we can see that destructive and violet face of nature. Nature doesn't need us but we need nature to survive. We should try our best to protect the nature.

Wow..I am in love with your ending statement.. indeed nature doesn't need us but we do..so the best we can do is treat it well for our own benefit

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
nkemakonam89 tipped george-dee
@nkemakonam89(1/5) tipped @hallmarkey2023

Plastic usage is spreading so far. It's good that you raised awareness about plastic trashes all around us which is alarming for the health of our earth and consequently for humans too. This needs our contribution. No matter how little our contribution will be but we should contribute into the cleaner and greener planet.


Curious about HivePakistan? Join us on Discord!

Delegate your HP to the Hivepakistan account and earn 90% of curation rewards in liquid hive!

50 HP
100 HP
200 HP
500 HP (Supporter Badge)
1000 HP
Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting!

Join Binance through this LINK for 10% off trading fees! Let's save together!

Yea, our little contribution matters alot and shouldn't be ignored. I hope more people gets to practice this
Thanks for reading and for the curation

I also learned about the harmful effects Of using these plastics to pack our food, modernization do this one, I hope we can go back the the healthier way and reduce all these sicknesses flying around today, especially among the youth.

Yesooo
We are just too modernized and easily get affected
Lol

 12 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

Thanks for the curation 👍

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

This was very impressive to read, you are very intention to keep the envirom=nment safe from your own end, I am so sure your kids will emulate such an amazing thing from you. I personally find it very hard to dump things on the floor or just carelessly. I put the remains into my bag to dispose properly at home.

May God help us with the things we consume nowadays, all these drinks and processed foods are just putting a lot of people's health at risk these days.

Sincerely speaking you penned down an interesting aspect of this ecosphere that needs a lot of attention not just by some but by all. We are blessed and serviced beyond measure from what the planet produces and it is our full right and responsibility to keep and maintain them not just for now but for the future.

Sadly, some people have very low values when it comes to keeping the outside clean, even though the same people wants to keep their houses super clean. I have seen plastic on top of snowy mountain peaks, so pathetic. That's why I carry a small bag sometimes and pick up whatever I can and try to never leave any plastic or non degradable products like that.

Edit: NICE POST

Wow.. you act like a professional Environmentalist
That's so nice of your actions and I hope many people can embrace this lifestyle in protecting our planet
Thanks for the nice edit 😃

Only when I am going on those beautiful mountains. I love mountains and hate to see it being a dumping ground too.