Two Wise Brothers and the Vanishing Note

in Hive Naija8 days ago (edited)

For the first time, my mother let my brother and I go to the salon ourselves to have our hair cut. She'd normally take us there herself, but she considered us big enough to walk the streets on our own, as long as it was during the daytime. Being the elder brother, I held the 500 naira note. Big money that time.

All we were going to spend to cut our hair was 50 naira per head, I think. The hair style was skodos, as we normally refer to it, where you'd shave the entire skull of its glory to reveal the beauty of the yellow sun. So, yes, I was carrying money for a pot of soup made with beef in my pocket. Good old times.

@yinjuolu and I, feeling like the biggest boys in the neighbourhood, bounced all the way to the salon. Not without our wise conversations, of course, with me most teaching him the philosophies of the universe. And a few playing around the streets, too, probably mimicking motorcycle sounds and our hands on our imaginary bikes saying... vrooommm vroooom vrrrooooooommmm!

Now, I don't remember if the money was in my hand or my pocket, but what I remember is that I surely didn't find it in either place on our arrival at our trustee barber. Or wait. I think we even realised that the precious 500 naira note had somehow vanished into thin air before our arrival. Our ETA automatically escalated from 10 minutes to 7 hours, because we knew we were finished.

"Ermmm...it's like the money is with you, right?" I said, searching my pockets. My brother, who widened his tiny eyes, promptly defended, "No ooo. Is it not you that was doing big brother and collected the money from mommy when she was clearing your plate of food that you did not finish and eventually did not give me?"


IMG-20230902-WA0026.jpg

Two wise men...


Realising all my philosophical teachings entered one ear of his and came out the other, I just hissed and started looking for the money that had gone incognito. Quickly enough, we knew what had to be done; operation trace-our-steps-back-home-while-searching-or-else-mommy-unleashes-mr-do-goody

For effective results, which was to find the prodigal 500 naira note, the operation was carried out three times. After tracing our steps back home, we did the same back to where we realised our money was missing, and then back home again. Going back home to mommy, we had already asked the Lord to forgive us of all our sins as we returned to meet Mama J & J, the no-nonsense woman.

"Oya...smell the cane. Smell it well! What does the cane smell like?" Our mother's words when our backs are about to receive some lovely tattoos from Mr Do Goody. I had already begun predicting my fate on our way back home, especially being the elder brother.

When my mother disciplines me based on "elder brother" case, she'll be bringing Spider-Man quotes like "With great power comes great responsibility." After I would have cried the Atlantic ocean. Meanwhile, it is this same younger brother that did not used to hear word, although it was entirely my fault this time. Or maybe she never actually gave me the money??? Hmmmmmmm....

We got home, and the moment of truth came. With my high-pitched voice, I started stammering as I explained our situation. After I had presented my case, being my own lawyer, my mother did the unthinkable.

She just said "okay" and gave us another note, and then asked us to be very careful this time.

"Say what, ma?" After all the internal crisis I had!

You should have seen me in church the next Sunday, I almost gave testimony to Jesus for saving my life. Ever since that day, the spirit of money disappearance fled far away from me.

And then we went back to get our skodos...

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Oya...smell the cane. Smell it well! What does the cane smell like?" Our mother's words when our backs are about to receive some lovely tattoos from Mr Do Goody.

You can't imagine how had i laughed to this🤣🤣🤣🤣.. My mom would say "what is this called?" We don't dare say cane... In the midst of crying while stammering you'll hear "Dr..doc..doctor do me good"😂.

Oh men! You really reminded me of the beaten i shop those times sha..lol

 7 days ago  

😂😂
And you had me laughing hard too

It is God that has been saving us from time

I'm telling you🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

This was such a funny read 🤣🤣... You both were very lucky that day or just maybe your mum didn't give you guys the money😂...
You both look so cute 🥹

 8 days ago  

or just maybe your mum didn't give you guys the money

Which mother would you tell that one??
It's like you want to collect... 😂

Honestly 😂😂, better flogging😂

 7 days ago  

Better 😁

No be small o🤣🤣

 7 days ago  

😁

😅 Thank youuu.

Maybe she didn't. But I know how much we would have checked within ourselves and looked for the money before heading back home as our last resort.😂

I totally get 😂😂... I can only imagine the amount of tears you both would've cried after being flogged 😂😂

🤣🤣🤣🤣 this got me cracking like crazy Jay😂😂😂😂😂

You should have titled this post cry me a river 🤣🤣🤣🤣

But those were good old days really. Days when we bragged about each other's mins and their beating prowess with some corresponding marks on the skin to prove the point .

I guess she followed you guys and saw where you dropped the money, she picked it up and waited patiently for your confession.

Also don't mind younger siblings, they make a scapegoat if their elders whenever there is a crisis 😂

 7 days ago  

Cry me a River indeed 😁

...she picked it up and waited patiently for your confession.

I don't know the magic that happened o. I sha know that I was saved that day 😂

I'm wondering what you would have said if it were your daughter...

To be frank, she would have received serious scoldings 😂😂😂😂

Hehe. Once I lost money like you and I tried to find it for 1 hours and failed. At last when I returned home and figured out that I dropped the note in mt home 😅. I was the lucky one. This incident reminded me about my childhood memories 😅.

 8 days ago  

Bro, you were lucky. What explanation and you have given mama? 😁

I bought all the things in debt from shopkeeper and managed my mother easily. In fact I have taken some money from the shopkeeper to make make the calculation accurate and promised the shopkeeper to return the money next day. My mother didn't understood anything but at night time I confessed about it because I was feeling guilty for telling lie to my mother.

Oya smell the cane ooo. Oya gborun e (in Yoruba) like the way she always says it. 😂

I don't exactly remember the details of the day, but It sounds so familiar 😅

And your way with words broo. I salute 🫡

 8 days ago  

Oya gborun e

Ye! Olorun oba o! 😂

I don't exactly remember the details of the day, but It sounds so familiar 😅

Don't worry, I will soon remind you of the time we flooded the house with the red sea with the tap open

And your way with words broo. I salute 🫡

Thank you, ser 🫡

Eiii all these children 🤣. So you almost drowned the family? 😂

 7 days ago  

Thankfully, our mother wasn't around, so our uncle helped us unflood the house 😁

Oh! Wow how lucky you guys were 🤣

Omoooo, I remember that one.

We carry ourselves, talk says we wan wash all the clothes for house.

Na so we flood everywhere.

I remember Mimi was with us.

Hahaha😂😂😂😂😂😂..
Ahn ahn... Wash kor, wash ni🤣

At least @kilvnrex and I packed rice to cook to surprise our mom.. In our mind, the quantity of rice will determine how much is going to be.. That was how we ended up cooking rice that was more than the pot, and when mommy came back she was surprised indeed 😂. Worse part was, she didn't had strength to flog us because it was done in the name of surprise😅

 7 days ago  

Yes o

We say we wash do good children, na so we launch swimming pool 😂

So you’ve been on Hive for two years now! Oh my @olujay was I aware? 🙂
I’m asking because it just doesn’t ring a bell. Well, see me after this lecture 🤣

Hahaha 🤣🤣🤣. This one is full of happiness @olujay. Am still laughing. Mothers love ❤️ is something that is everlasting. The Holy spirit was with her that very day. And its an opportunity for you to learn how to be more careful

Nice lovely read. Blessings.

 7 days ago  

Oh, yes. 😂

Truth is, I have indeed learned a lot from my mother. God bless all the sweet and amazing mothers out there.

Now this was a very fun read and I saw all the scenes playing in my head because I’ve had some of the experiences and also had friends who had similar experiences as well.

Just the day you think you are dead there is nothing that can change it, God proved himself to you, hehe. I can imagine the joy when she stretched her hand with another 500 naira note, glorious!!!

 7 days ago  

😁

What would your Dad have said if it were you and your sister?

Nothing, if he has the money he will give it to us again if not we will carry that hair like that until he gets another one to give us 😅

It's the "teaching me the philosophy of the universe" part for me 😂

See our baby pictures o 🥹. You don cast me.🙈

 8 days ago  

It's the "teaching me the philosophy of the universe" part for me

Shey you have not been drawing from my well of wisdom since I was changing your diaper, sir?

You don cast me.🙈

You that was catching the ladies thing then

I couldn't stop my laughter while reading this😆😆😆.

 7 days ago  

Please take it easy 😂

Your baby pictures are quite cute too😎

 7 days ago  

Oh, stopeeet 🤓

😂😂😂

Mummy decided to spare the rod this time. If not daddy goody would have had fun with you 😅😂

Their mind for Dey 🤣

 7 days ago  

My guyyy

And my mother sabi flog that time ehn 😂

Big money that time.

Very big money then😂.

Bro, I enjoyed reading this, c'mon.

You should have seen me in church the next Sunday, I almost gave testimony to Jesus for saving my life

The common song "no be say I dey craze. Na God I dey praise o" came to mind when I read this.