Parenting: A Rare Priviledge

in Hive Naija15 days ago

Hello and Goodmorning everyone here in the hive naija community
Here is my entry for this week's prompt:


Being born into the family of Mr and Mrs Samuel Akpan as the first on only daughter was a thing of joy to not just me but both my parents,extended families and the villagers . After ten years of childlessness and fibroid cases, I finally came to them as a blessing from God. I was being pampered, protected , and given anything and everything that could and can make me happy. The one part of my upbringing which I love so much is :

Discipline: It is believed that when a child is born the sole responsibility of the child’s upbringing lies not just only in the hands of the parents but also in the hand of the entire village,school and church. I was well disciplined while growing up to the extent that I felt I was being hated by both my parents and everyone involved in the upbringing. There were instances where my mom especially would invite one of my uncle's over to the house to flog me because of one or the other, this only happens if she is tired of using the talking method. The villagers took it upon themselves to make sure that no matter what happens I would never be a victim of unwanted pregnancy so at any point I am seen with a young guy it's either they will beat me up or report me to my parents. There was once I wore a very short skirt out of the house to go get something believe me my father's brother's wife beat the devil out of my lifeeeeee jesusssss.The beatings were too much since then,so I dressed the way I wanted to be addressed.

Due to the pampering I got growing up I honestly could not do anything, I was lazy but my mothers sister who stays in the village called me to order. I grew up being so disciplined that whatever happens with or without my parents around I can still behave properly.i will love to imbibe discipline in my children and I'll love teamwork.

The other part of my upbringing is the lack of quality time with my parents: my parents were very busy persons .As at then my mother was a headmistress and my dad a federal government school vice principal. My dad’s own was more annoying because he barely stays in with us, he is always posted to different states. My mom leaves the house every morning to school and comes back in the afternoon then to church and back home. This was always our routine and my dad comes home once a year and sometimes we had to travel to go meet him there .This affected me so much that I barely had the opportunity to talk to my mum about some personal stuff affecting me. I literally got to learn about how to use a pad in school. It was that bad. Although we got the best relationship later on but not while growing up .
So I would love to be the best friend to my children, I want to be my children’s gossip mates, I want to be my children's everything and not just a mother.

I hope for a blessed family and amazing children
Thank you for this amazing question. Finally a food for thought.

Thanks for reading my post❤️❤️

Sort:  

10 years? You are a miracle child my darling 💖

The entire community really took an interest in your upbringing which is perfect because your parents were rarely around to do much.

I hope that when you have your family, you will be your children's best friend like you said.

Most definetly dear❤️

 14 days ago  

1000140008.gif

Discipline is key in bringing up a child, any parents that fails to discipline their child has ruined the life of that child.

It seems this lack of time thing is general, I also faced that thing while I was growing up and it affected me negatively. It's good for parents to try as much as possible to create time for their children no matter how busy they are

Am glad
I have a partner in this aspect

Hehheh, this is our little secret, don't tell anyone 😂

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @emreal, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.