My Choice Of Human Senses.

in Hive Naija25 days ago

IMG_20240508_112035_177.jpg

Growing up, we learned about the human senses and their importance and I can bet that we can all say that there isn't one of these human senses that we can do without as we need all of it to function properly.

But if I were to choose one of these human senses, I would go for having a distinctive hearing ability. The organ for hearing is the ear which you would use to listen to any form of sounds around you either low or loud sounds.

Some of these sounds can either be pleasant or irritating. The ability to hear some sounds that many are oblivious to is a kind of gift I would like. Just as a sonar operator whose job is to detect or locate audio sensors from miles away, it would help when coming in contact of an enemy ship.

There is a saying that "The ear is easily more frightening than the eye". Imagine at night when everywhere is so dark that you can barely see a thing, you might still be able to find your way around through sounds.

Also, Imagine being stuck in a place you don't know and trying to find your way back home. You are probably tired from all the walking about and in desperate need of water. The sound of running water(probably from a river) will instantly bring a smile to your face even before you see it because that way you can replenish the lost strength and gain the energy you need to continue on your journey by quenching your thirst.

Then the sound of probably a vehicle will have you running towards it knowing that you are getting closer to finding another person who could help you in finding your way.

Hahaha, call me crazy but then maybe it's not my fault but all of those movies I do watch.

But amongst the funny things I would love to hear, I think I would love to have the ability to hear what animals, reptiles, insects and other do talk about. If I am "gifted" with the ability to hear what some animals(domestic animals o) think, like the female version of Dr DoLittle, I might be able understand how they do some funny things they do. I might also be able to understand their pains as well. Only that I wouldn't want to choose animals over humans now would I?

Have you ever wondered what the lizard is saying while it stops, staring at you while nodding its head constantly before it finally skidder off? It's probably saying "Yeah right, just take a picture, I bet It'd last longer" or the annoying hum of the mosquitoes while it patiently waits for the dark so it can suck the "living daylights" out of your blood.

There is this superstitious belief that when two or more goats are seen facing one another, they are probably having a "meeting" or talking about going to their "midnight meetings", so it is said to be taboo to walk in between their midst.

I sometimes see goats forming a small circle together and often wonder what they are "talking about", that's if they are talking at all.

However having this ability will come with its disadvantages, which is why I think I want to be spared from the ability to hear people's thoughts because some people might have bad thoughts towards you that you rather not want to know. Sometimes Ignorance Is Bliss.

Image used is mine.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Lol that's a news to me, goats facing each other means such? 😅 Well, there's no superstition we won't hear of.

The hearing ability is a good one but as you've said, all senses ability are important.

Ehhh I haven’t real heard this taboo before o
Me I haven’t even noticed two goats facing each other. I need to be very vigilant now😂

 24 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif