A male child should also be domesticated...

in Hive Naija2 months ago (edited)

Family is one of the best gifts you can ever have as a person. Family is where you get true love, joy and happiness. No matter what you are going through, never you neglect your family. They should be your first resort.

As regards gender in my family, there seems to be an insignificant difference in roles but that doesn't mean there are no specific roles. The roles are merely what should be replicated in every home.

When it comes to home chores, all children are trained equally regardless of your gender. A male child is meant to be as domesticated as a female child. I'm so glad of my parents' decision as this has helped to instill in me a sense of responsibility and self-defence. I can boldly say that there is no home chore I cannot do. This has not only just made me a romantic guy but also a loving and supportive husband to the bone of my bone. I can beat my chest and say that I will make a good husband to the woman I will marry and a loving father to my children. I can cook different dishes both local and intercontinental, I can wash and clean the house, and the list goes on. I'm so grateful to my mum. So in my home, nobody knows which task is meant for a male or a female as everyone is involved and anyone could be assigned any task anytime. We all carry out our task judiciously. At first, I thought I was being punished but now I'm enjoying the benefit.

However, the male children were trained to be more independent. Growing up as young men, the cloak of responsibility was vested on us to be not just providers but also protectors. Our core duties as male children was to look out for our female siblings. Provide what they need and protect them from the viles of strangers. You dare not mess around or talk ill about any of our female siblings; try it and you will go down for it. We won't just roar, we will also bite and tear into pieces if possible 😂 We prefer to get hurt instead of them. Our beautiful sisters were our pride. We boast of them anywhere we go. Though we may argue and quarrel within the house, but outside we've got one another's back.

On the other hand, the females were raised to be our mothers. They are responsible for our wellbeing. They make sure that we are not hungry, and take care of us when we are ill. They are our greatest support systems; emotionally, physically and spiritually. God bless them. Men don't cry but they were our shoulders to cry on. Our source of encouragement and motivation. Our strongest fans, anytime, any day. We were like heroes to them as they shower us with so much love, care and attention. Not to talk about sacrifice, that was their watch word. "Family above anything" was their slogan.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 2 months ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

Wow. This is beautiful. I love how both genders take up any responsibility in the house. And how when it comes to the right gender roles, the males protects the females and the females are the males emotional support system.

Such beautiful write up.

Thank you so much for those words of encouragement.