Maybe Not All Hope Is Lost:

in Hive Naija24 days ago (edited)


With the economic situation in Nigeria, it's very difficult to make ends meet let alone get a decent job to foot the bills.

I just graduated from the university which means I have to provide 95% of my upkeep now without bothering anyone too much with it. After i graduated i was a little bit in debt of almost 200,000 naira, the funny thing though is the longer the time frame the more the interest keeps piling up.

It was ridiculous for me to ask for help, I had to carry my cross on this one and at one point it became heavy. Sometimes I lose hope and sight of going on, other times I'm not just bent with the idea of getting this fix up alone.

I thought of an idea and started applying for customer service jobs online again. Most of the companies I came across with always had this excuse of not employing anyone from Nigeria, which actually made me lose hope even more.

For one or more reason i do not know why Nigeria doesn't have the privileged of online jobs and this in turn is really affecting most if not all the citizens in the country, sometimes when you managed to find one it will be discourage with payment method either with paypal which is not eligible in nigeria or some other catastrophe which might take you off balance.

I decided to see if i can apply again for Most of the customer jobs i worked with some years back, some had been frozen, while others was rejecting Nigerians like pleg ,

I saw a company based abroad I was familiar with that laid most of its workers off the time I was working with them. I applied again for a role and was rejected because they don't accept Nigerians anymore, for which reason is complicated.

Well there it is my last hope, i was stuck, for worth is worth i needed to find a job and i need to find it quick. I was on top of the bed mopping at the ceiling just thinking of a solution. Anything just anything would help at this point . So i thought what if i email the company and pour my heart to them, on second thought wouldn't that be emotional blackmail?




Nahhh, What the heck!! I took the bull and emailed the company explaining to them how badly I really needed the job again and how I've worked for them in the past before. I didn't get a response, but somehow that email made me feel that maybe all hope is not lost yet. Apparently anyone who finds it, read it and at least got some heart would consider me for the job.

A week past and i didnt get a response from them, i was at the verge of giving up my last hope when reluctantly I opened up my email the following week and saw a response scheduling me for an interview, I hurriedly went to the interview page, and downloaded some materials to help me prepare for what is coming,

This was my last chance so i had to do everything possible to get the job, fast forward to the day of the interview it was a blast, apparently i was the only Nigerian that was given the opportunity to work with the company, That was how my hope rekindled, am currently working with the customer care company till date and am very excited it solved most of my worries.

One thing I've learnt is: Having faith and hope can take you to a higher ground and make your wish come true, as long as you keep persisting though..

Thanks for reading folks.

This is my participating to the Hive Naija Weekly Prompt - Wk47


Image 1
Image 2

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @sarahossai! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Most of these online jobs don't accept Nigerians anymore, I don't know what nigerians did to deserve something like this, imagine all the applicationss you've submitted turning you down cause you are a Nigerian it's crazy, glad you got one even in the midst of doubt and hopelessness, you got a job, congrats on that dear.

Nigeria wahala, we all hope the economic gets better, maybe they thought nigeria is filled with fraud

Wow!!

It's amazing how you were able to go past every doubt in you and email them again. My pride wouldn't let me if I was in your shoes. But I just learned never to take no for an answer.

And definately not to let your fear consume you. Glad u enjoyed the post

Yeah I did.

Thank you