A Scare Hope

in Hive Naija26 days ago

Hello everyone, I hope you are doing very well.
Welcome to Hive Naijah, week 47.

patient-8448472_1280.webp
Image
Things happen for a reason. I believe that most of the things that happen to us happen for a reason.
We go through pain, and we are molded to become stronger and help people who would also face what we faced in life.
Everyone has a cross to carry, so we should not always feel low or down when we face bad times.

I remember that, while I was growing up, I had a friend who was always very sick. This sickness was from birth, and she usually stays for days without seeing.
This sickness made her very dull in her studies.
Teachers knew her for not always doing well in her studies.
I liked her because she was always vibrant, no matter how she used to feel.
Rebecca is a beautiful girl, even now.
She was the most beautiful friend I had in school back then.

Her parents knew us, and they liked together seeing that I used to help in her school and make sure that she was not faced with any challenges in school.
Rebecca would always tell me how she wanted to be the best fashion designer in the world.
She was a fashion freek, and she always used papers to make dresses.
Apart from not being good academically, Rebecca was good in other aspects of life.

I remember that one day she told me that she has a garden in her house and that she used to plan on it.
She said that they don't really buy vegetables because she has them in her garden.
Whenever I told my mom about her, she would tell me to stick close to her, as she is a very promising child.
For the first time in my life, mom told me that my friend was a good friend, and I did not doubt my mom's instincts, as they were always correct.

One day, as we were in class, Rebecca took permission from our class teacher and told her that she was going to the restroom to ease herself. No one noticed that she was not feeling well.
She did not say anything that day; she did not even look sick to me that day, and I just felt that she left for the restroom and that she would return in no time.
For two hours, Rebecca did not come back to the class. When I noticed something was wrong, I took permission from the class teacher so that I could check for her in the restroom.

When I went to the restroom, I saw Rebecca on the floor of the toilet, as dirty as it was.
"Rebecca"
I called her in shock.
"can't see"
She replied faintly.
I got so scared, so I screamed.
"somebody help"
Teachers and other people who I hadn't noticed came around to help us.
Rebecca was rushed to the school clinic for first aid.
She could not say anything to anyone, and she was just having breathing difficulties as if she wanted to pass out.

The school authority called her parents, and the worst part of it was that her parents traveled and were to come back very late that day, and the only person available was her aunty, who did not really know what to do.
For 11 hours, Rebecca was unconscious; she did not know herself.
She was rushed to the hospital later, and the doctor said that she had a nerve contraction and that her cardinal nerves were not resting well.
We prayed and hoped that she would be okay.

At a point, I was left alone with her aunt, and we were just talking to ourselves, saying that nothing was going to happen to Rebecca.
I remember that I walked up to where she lay and said,
"Rebecca, you shall come back to me."
I was so afraid that she would die.
The doctors gave up on her because she was not responding anymore.
We were still hoping.
"Rebecca will be fine."
I whispered to myself, and with tears in my eyes, I said to her aunt, Don't cry, and her aunt, with tears in her eyes too, told me,
"I'm not crying, so don't cry too."

We waited for eleven hours, and we did not see any hope of Rebecca coming back to life.
My mom latered came to pick me home.
I did not feel like going with her, but she insisted, so I followed her home.
When I reached the house, my mom told me that I had just slept and that when I woke up the next day, I would get good news.
I slept, but not with my two eyes closed. I really hoped to see my friend the next day.

The next day, I went to school, and I was just alone, thinking and hoping that Rebecca would be fine.
Three days passed, and I did not hear from her or her relatives.
After three days, Rebecca's mom came to school, and I saw her fear of me.
"Where is Rebecca?"
I said to myself,.
Then, when I was still in the class, I was called by the principal. When I went there, Rebecca's mom was there, and she told me that Rebecca was fine, but she would not be schooling in our school anymore as she would be going to a special school.
I felt so bad, as that was the only friend I had in school.
She thanked me and told me that I should not worry about Rebecca and that she was fine.

Sort:  

That was a terrifying experience and you almost lost hope that your friend will make it to life. I see the bond that exists between you both. Rebecca might not be sound academically but good with other skills that could help her navigate life and succeed. She is indeed a promising child and I pray the parents and doctors gives her proper treatment to the health challenge. It's good to remain hopeful and positive even in difficult situations

 25 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

What a heartbreaking experience, I felt really bad for Rebecca but glad she was all good and okay though she had to change schools and you won't be seeing her often again.

Yeah, we have not been seeing again.

Chai, too bad!!