Overcoming Stage Fright

in Hive Naijalast month (edited)

Hello, Hive Naijah,I hope I hope you are doing very well today.
I'm back again today,today, and I am excited to bring this story to you.

public-speaking-3926344_1280.jpg

Image
Public speaking is something very simple but very hard to start if you don't practice it.
I remember that when I was in secondary school, people usually told me that I would hold a post atat the school.
I never wanted to be perfect because,because, as a reserved person, I used to prefer writing.
I was a bright student, though, but I never wanted to leave my comfort zone; I wanted to just be on the low.

When I was in JSS3, I was dominated to be the class prefect. Everyone wanted to be the ass prefect, but I didn't want to be.
I was just wondering how I would stand in front to address the class.
When the next day came for me to address the class, I was shivering and sweating in my palms.
My heart started cutting, and I could hear some sounds in my belly. I felt like not getting up from my desk, but my classmates would let me be.
"Go girl"
They all said it with loud voices, clapping with a standing ovation.
I didn't know why they really wanted me to be the class prefect.
I always thought that nobody noticed me in the class because of how reserved I was, but no, they all knew me and wanted me to be the class prefect.

When the time came for me to make the speech, I stood in front of the class after they might have made me feel like I should just run.
As I opened my mouth to talk, I felt this sensation in my head like I was going to fall.
My eyes were red, and I managed to say
"Hello"
Everyone started shouting because I just said hello, and that was the end of my speech.
They were so happy that they could hear my voice, at least.

Anytime I wanted to make an announcement to the class, I would write it on the board.
I remember that one day, as I wanted to write on the board, everyone in the class said that they did not want to read it and that they wanted me to talk to them.
To my amazement, my class teacher got involved in this and told me that I should just try to say whatever I wanted to write on the board to the class.
I found it very difficult to talk to the class.
From that day on, my class teacher took it upon himself to coach me on how to speak in public.
Thanks to Mr. Iyene for that.

Every day, he would write a note and give it to me to read in the class.
He would tell me to practice it in front of him before reading it in front of the class.
My class teacher really wanted the best for me.
He would correct me and tell me how to do punctuation when I'm speaking.
He would teach me how to express myself while speaking to people. He told me that at first I should close my eyes. I read the note in front of him, and whenever I want to read it in front of the class, I should just pretend that there is nobody in the class.

When I was in SSS1, I was still the class prefect, and this time I made the speech, and it came out very well.
Here are some tips on how to make a speech in public:

Think: This is very important; if you speak without thinking, you will end up not speaking, as you will be making mistakes.

Salutation: This is a form of greeting the audience, and this helps you become familiar with your audience.
If you say "hello" to people with a smile on their faces, they tend to listen to you because they feel calm around you.

Introduction: Introducing yourself makes you register your presence in the minds of your audience.
It makes them know you better and want to listen to you too.
You need to also introduce what you want to say to them.

If you do all of these, it becomes very possible to speak with confidence.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

You had such an amazing teacher. I hope the school gave him an award for his diligence.

 last month  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif