Never run dry!

in Hive Naijalast month (edited)
I grew up in a normal Nigerian home, just like everyone else. We were not poor nor rich, but we didn't lack through God's grace. While growing up, I learned something from my mom. She never let anything finish in the house before she brought another one, especially daily needs like salt, maggi, tea, sugar, matches, and things like that, which were always in one carton in her room.

[image is mine]

Anytime any of them finished in the kitchen, we all knew the next place to go was to pick it up inside the carton. It's not that she was rich, but anytime she had the opportunity to go to the market, she would always refill.

She would buy additional items to add to the ones already in the carton, so we didn't have to borrow anything from our neighbors or walk to the street to get daily needs because she always refilled. So when I see people who, whenever they want to use something, have to go and buy it when they need it, I always wonder why, because of how I was raised.

When I finally left home and went to school, it became part of me; daily needs never finished in my room because I always refilled if I had any small change. I didn't have to borrow anything from my neighbors except when my gas finished while cooking.

[image is mine]

Maybe that's why it's very difficult for me to ask for help even when I know I need it. I may be 0 percent broke, I may not have any cash or anything in my bank account, but I never run out of foodstuffs because I always refill immediately I have any little change in me. You may ask me for money, I might not have any to give, but if it's foodstuffs, I will surely give, even if it's little.

I didn't read any meaning into it then, but now I do. Why am I sharing this? See, my people never run out of prayer. Some people, it's their mother's prayer that is still working for them because they don't get time to pray for themselves. Your mom's prayer might finish one day. It's only January 1st, some people pray, after January 1st, they stop praying for the rest of the year. Refill your prayer; prayer gets exhausted too.
Refill your knowledge, learn new things, learn new skills. What you have might not sustain you in years to come. Refill everything that needs to be refilled. A fashion designer, hair stylist, baker who doesn't continually update their knowledge might be out of the market one day. Don't let it finish before you refill. If you have to do that degree , master , phd do it. No knowledge is a waste. Most importantly, never run out of God presence and prayers.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 last month  

True that. Even the brain needs to refill and the human spirit recharged.

Yes, very true

I can see you are already having a hang of Hive. Good 👍
Yes, I can say we are same on this. I never let foodstuffs run out from my home. I always refill every time because even if I am broke, there would be food in the house. It is why I don't like asking for help and if I do, I only meet my siblings.

Prayer too is one thing one shouldn't let it run dry. The scripture says we should always pray without ceasing and by doing that, we keep growing spiritually and also protecting ourselves.

Yes sis , it's very important

Congratulations @toluwanih! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP