What I would keep!

in Hive Naija26 days ago

The first thing that came to my mind when I saw this topic, was the house I lived in as a child, I know I can't keep that right, you might be wondering why I said that well I can't keep it cause it was a rented apartment, I loved that house or maybe it wasn't the house I loved what if it was the humans that lived in the house with me that's my family.

So if I intend to keep that apartment it simply means I would be keeping everyone in it as well but then the fact remains that it isn't possible because currently everyone has grown and is searching for greener pastures in different states.

Let's get back to the things I could keep from childhood till now, the only thing on my list would be my Barbie doll, that doll became a huge part of me the very moment I found out I could beautify it, not just that, I learned my hair making skill by practicing with it at home whenever I was less occupied with house chores.

Little story behind that doll: growing up I used to be very scared of dolls, and I didn't get close to them "Funny right hehe!!" I thought the same too, my mum at the other hand wanted me to fight that fear of dolls or should I say " the phobia for dolls" so one morning she got back from the market and called out to me, you know that feeling when your mum calls you immediately she got home from the market "you know right" which means there might some goodies for you in the bag. I ran like like a flash and stood in front of her all excited, eager to see what she had in stock for me, then she put her hand inside the bag and brought out something wrapped in a black cellophane bag and stretched her hand towards me, I didn't wait for her to say take it, I grabbed it immediately, with this excitement in my face unwrapping the bag.

Sourc link

Then I opened as soon I saw what was inside the bag I threw it away and ran outside, I didn't know what she did with it again, so one faithful day I was coming back from school when I saw where people were gathered, I thought something was happening so I went to take a peep then I noticed they were busy making someone's hair, I looked closely at the style when I got home I was eager in trying it on someone's hair but nobody would allow me to use their hair knowing fully well I don't know how to do it, so I walked up to my mum and asked her of the doll, she was like "why do you want it" my response " I want to make her hair" that was how she went to bring it out from where it was hidden.

My mum handed the doll back to me and luckily it had hair, at that moment I became the happiest person on earth seeing one of my dreams come true, so that was how I started my hair-making journey, I styled my doll's hair every day, what I didn't know was the fact that I was learning a skill for myself that was gonna pay off later. My doll is the only thing I would keep from my childhood, cause it made me become a hairdresser though I wasn't too perfect then, I was good, I practiced every hairstyle using it, and the outcome wasn't always pleasing to the eyes of others but my doll didn't complain. Currently, I don't have anything from my childhood in my closet the one thing I have right now is the amazing memories that keep me going every day.

Thanks for reading🌹

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I had the opportunity to explore different kind of dolls and also beautify them, I can relate to this.

It's beautiful how you went from being scared of it to utilizing it for a good skill.

Yeah, it took me a while to develop that boldness to use that doll though even in the process of beautifying it.

Thanks for your nice comment.

Wow, it is so interesting to hear how your doll is what makes you good at hairdressing. Unlike me, I barbed my doll. her hair was too strong and it was falling off. Plus I was not good at making hair

Hehe!!! Why did you cut your doll's hair, yeah I understand!

Now you know, lolz

Wait what?
Your doll made you a hairdresser?
Wow! I’m speechless
And there was me, who didnt even like dolls

Haha, you didn't like dolls And why?

I was busy with video games

Video games wow

 25 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

It so nice to know that a doll gave you a skill and it's indeed a wonderful memory.

Yeah it is, I will never forget this particular one, I take it everywhere with me.