You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Teen suicide rate doubles with social media being a part of their lives

I heard something on a podcast the other day that while our social media in the west focuses on impossible beauty standards, stupid shit like bullying strangers in public, and "alternative lifestyles" being the norm that China's social media is almost exclusively science, art, education, and lifestyle stuff that is quite wholesome.... oh and they cut it all off for everyone at 10pm.

I'm not saying that I want to live in an authoritarian society, but parents just stopped being parents at some point in the past 20 years. had social media existed when I was a kid my parents would have censored the hell out if it and while I didn't like the restrictions that were placed on me as a kid, I am now quite appreciative of all the restrictions that my parents had on my life when I was a child. It helped me to grow into a much better adult.