So a pig wanders into a bar....

in Informationwar2 years ago

It sounds like the opening of a cheesy dad joke but this time around it is a real story and a cute one at that.

A domesticated pig that someone was keeping as a pet - which is something I find to be very strange but you do you! - decided it was going to go on a wander around the neighborhood in County Durham, England.


image.png
src
Unfortunately, the only images available of the incident are all blurry

Apparently the pig was very friendly and was walking up to patrons like a dog would, hoping to get some rubs on its head or maybe some snacks from the table.

The manager of the pub had turned in for the night and lived upstairs but got a call from staff letting her know that "there is a pig in the bar and we don't know what to do." The manager initially thought that by "pig" they meant an unruly, drunken customer, but no, the staff meant it in a literal sense.

Patrons, who were not aware of the pig's docile nature, were afraid to simply pick it up and take it outside so instead they lured it out the door and into a pen in the front garden using potato chips, onions, and cheese. It put up no resistance and the owner of the pig was soon found.


image.png
src

The patrons of the Easington Colliery Club all got a great laugh out of this because honestly, how often does something like this happen? I think that if I had been there I would have thought that maybe I had consumed one too many and it was time for me to pay up and head home.

No one including the pig was harmed during the event and now this place is probably seeing an uptick in business because the incident made international news. Finally something fun in the news cycle instead of just the usual political arguments, right?


great-story.jpg

Sort:  

Absolutely interesting, i do believe this incident in away actually did put smiles on the face of many.

I think that if I had been there I would have thought that maybe I had consumed one too many and it was time for me to pay up and head home.

My thought flows this same direction too, going through the post also creates an atmosphere just as it was in the bar..., i cant just stop smiling, thanks @dumb-news for sharing.

I have been in bars where a rat would scurry across the floor and it freaked me out. A slow moving pig would just be funny though... a boar, terrifying.

Good to have you back, its like your schedule had been so engaging, thanks for stopping by

I was thinking if that happened in Africa the locals would take it home and eat it. Pot Belly pigs were in fashion abut 20 years back as a pet and was never tempted.

Pot Belly pigs were in fashion abut 20 years back as a pet

I think people were starting to get a bit weird about pets. Just get a dog.

I live in a somewhat farming community. If it happened here we would probably just ignore it, let it have a lie down, and carry on drinking unless it started causing some damage.

I suspect that this was that sort of community and why it is that the people reacted the way they did. Pigs don't normally seek out humans though, so this was probably very funny.