Jordan Peterson challenges the church to step up

in Informationwar2 years ago (edited)

Jordan Peterson just released this message to the Christian Church. It's powerful stuff. JP has been unchained since joining The Daily Wire, which is good for us. Basically, Peterson is challenging all Christian church's to do more for young men. I think Peterson is the best person for this message, because he's not a devout Christian, but he has a deep, psychological perspective on the stories in the Bible, which predate the Christian Church.

I personally found his lecture series on the Bible to be profound, and life changing.

I wish I had faith in main stream Christianity to meet Petersons challenge. But, I don't. As much as fundamentalist's claims to be the alternative to wokism, they're not. They're part of the problem.

The Church is too ignorant, reactionary, and power hungry to offer genuine solutions.

The "Collective Church" is fractured into hundreds, maybe thousands of different denominations, all claiming to be the one true Christian Church. Somehow, you're supposed to be able to pick the right one. The differences between them are insignificant, and mostly political in origin.

The state of the Church today is it has no identity. The Church is identified more by it's political affiliations and dogma, than spirituality. This creates ignorant and combative follower's.

I'm with Sam Harris on how organized religion is insufficient to meet the needs of humanity. It's links to culture are often used to divide people.

The Christian Churches problem's have existed for years, and they act as a feeder system for the woke mob. Many of those who rightfully see through the bullshit get absorbed by the Radical Left.

This dynamic doesn't help.

I don't think mainstream Christianity's problems are lost on Jordan Peterson.

What I like about this message is Jordan Peterson doesn't let the Church off the hook. He acknowledges the power it has to help young men, but it needs to do better, much better.

The feeling I got from Peterson is one of resignation. So much is going against young men these days, that the only institution left that can offer them a direction is the Church. I think this is sad, but true.

Sort:  

yes, I hope the church steps up to the challenge. Peterson says very valid things.

I was wondering how you were going to react, because you said in an earlier comment that your dad was a preacher. I believe there's a lot of a wisdom contained in the Bible. But no one ever unlocked it for me like JP did in his lectures. Being raised in the church myself, I still have some bitterness from the dogma shoved down my throat.

yea, i can relate to that..

Congratulations @senseiphil! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 200 comments.
Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!