(MY) Backfire G3 Plus - The Perfect Board for Any Beginner

in ESK83 years ago

Now that the introduction is out of the way, we can actually talk about the fun stuff.
To start off, I just want to say, this board looks absolutely gorgeous in every single angle.
Great graphics on the bottom of the board
The deck shape is perfect for any beginners

I'm a 170-180lbs rider. Remember this for future top speed and range references. We'll be talking about a lot of boards in the future.
Backfire claims a 28.5mph top speed, which is exactly what Rishi and I have hit multiple times. The remote has told us 28mph and Rishi has even taken this board past one of those police speed things (picture below, I don't know the proper name,) and that has said 28mph as well.
No discrepancy on that, it is exactly what they claim it is.

Backfire claims 20-25miles of range on a full charge. I've gotten 22miles from 100%-10% riding in Sport and Turbo mode. I love that the g3+ doesn't have the 30 sec turbo, then 30 sec cooldown period. You can ride in turbo the whole time, but it'll consume a lot more battery than riding in Sport mode.
I love the lights on the batteries as well, makes the board look like its glowing from above, and mainly, others can see you if you're riding at night.
The G3+ has CaliberII RKP (Reverse King Pin) trucks and they are VERY stable at higher speeds. I wasn't able to carve much with this board, but there's footage on YouTube of me going pretty fast and cornering with no problem.

My feet were constantly hurting after riding couple miles so I decided to switch over to Dope Grip Tape. Dope grip tape has shock-absorbing foam under the sheet of grip tape and it comes in hexagon designs so it looks pretty cool. The only downside I've seen with this grip tape is that the adhesive between the grip tape and the foam separates after few hundred miles. Other than that, its great for shock absorption. Makes the ride a lot more comfortable.
I ended up covering the exposed wires with some black electrical tape so water won't ruin the battery or the esc by leaking in there.
As you can see from the above picture, I also installed some ShredLights SL-200 on top of the board so I can see in front of me. I've done both top and bottom mount for the ShredLights. You can see more in front of you with the top mount, but it was just very uncomfortable on my front feet because the mount kept on digging into my foot, so I switched it over to bottom mount. Rishi rode the board around with the lights bottom mounted for about 400 miles and I haven't heard a single complaint from him.
I have not yet seen any cons for the FRONT SL200s. One of my lights broke from user error, but Shredlights shipped me another one a day after I sent in the complaint, so nothing to complain about at all. I've received great customer service from them.
I also added CloudWheel 105 Hub Kit to the G3+. This decreased the range by about 30%. With the cloudwheels on, I get about 15 miles per charge. They do make the ride better on sidewalks, low cut grass, and small rocks and branches, but they are NOT AT wheels by any means.
CloudWheel 105 Hub Kit
Sidewalk cracks and bumps no problem with the Cloudwheels

This has already gotten wayyy longer than I wanted it to be, so lets wrap it up I guess. Backfire G3+, possibly the best RKP beginner board under $1000. I would recommend this board to expert riders, beginner riders... just anyone who wants to get into e-skating. 28mph is more than enough for almost anyone, especially if you're just learning to ride. Your legs will give out wayyyy before you hit the 22 mile range on this board. You will most likely have to stop somewhere to rest, and if you want more miles, just charge your board up while resting. The flexible deck also eats up bumps and shocks.
Overall, very smooth ride with more than enough power AND range for any beginner. Be careful, the acceleration on Sport and Turbo is so powerful, it WILL throw you off the board if you're not leaning forward and paying attention.

:)