You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (UPDATED to V0.2): Strategizer Proposal: Fueling Hive's Growth/Evolution With Customized Research, Marketing Strategy Design & More!

in Hive Governance3 months ago

I can't speak for them, but I suspect it's a bit on the nose. The reality is, Bitcoin literally created the need for exchanges and the regulatory due diligence landscape has changed so extremely in the past few years that every month that goes by may or may not change things substantially in our favour. I suspect that as long as they pay their pound of flesh to the Gov, there's no need to go back the decade and a half and fill in "Satoshi" on the "legal entity" line. That's a guess though. As saying above to @guruvaj, right now Coins.PH and I are banging our heads together on how to help them enter into a contract with a trustless DAO for culpability reasons. As such, on most of our listings and almost every single CEX NDA, I am personally fully doxxed. I very, very, very much do not like that at all, but there is no one else who will and as such, it's something that I do my best to go over with my personal lawyer to protect myself as best I can and keep us moving forward on these things.

DEX options really are the future we need to pursue- lol.

Sort:  

on most of our listings and almost every single CEX NDA, I am personally fully doxxed. I very, very, very much do not like that at all, but there is no one else who will and as such, it's something that I do my best to go over with my personal lawyer to protect myself as best I can and keep us moving forward on these things.

Can't the DHF pay for a Directors & Officers (D&O) type insurance policy for you, similar to what corporations do with their directors, CEOs and top management teams?

NOTE: If the DHF funds this, make sure the policy includes "tail coverage". The tail means that any actions taken by you while the policy was in effect will be covered by the policy even if the policy itself is allowed to lapse.

This is a great point that I will look into for sure asap! Ideally, we will and do need a small, well delineated foundation. That is something that I very much hope some more people do some work on and I see a few more willing self starters speak up about. I will be referencing soon in a post, but for some of the asks that a community has, something more structured will have to be created, and I'm honestly already doing three full time hive jobs so it would be good to have a bit more collaboration on making that happen.

I can really feel your predicament about this, we hope we can push it more as a community.

And we really love you for the efforts that you are doing❤️❤️❤️

I don't know much about the legal rules surrounding relationships between exchanges and token operators, but at least in Britain there are a few ways to define the situation which bypass much of the issues (note: not legal advice). There is an allowance for organisations to be defined as a club for legal purposes. A community of people joining together to achieve their goals.

It seems that the issue of them requiring someone to be named and held responsible in the event of bad behaviour is a bit pointless anyway, since the scale of the community and the potential problems that the exchange might experience are much larger than one person will typically be able to be sued for anyway. I would hope that these places wouldn't end up trying to put you in jail personally if an exchange claimed that Hive's technology had somehow defrauded them!

Seems these folks need a good hard drink of that Satoshi spirit! 😁