You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Decreasing HBD APR and Posting Rewards and Increasing the Importance of Hive Power (HP)

in Hive Governance9 months ago

We should not be discussing changes to emissions at the tail end of a bear market. The end of bear market is legit the worst time to be messing with core code. We can't tame the market cycle and will get wrecked even more if we try while tilted on the backfoot trying to make number go up. What does it say about us as a network if every single bear market we pitch ideas to change the rules? It's not a good look.

Luckily HBD emissions are variable by design so a reduction there is a much more valid idea at this time. However I hope you realize that lowing the interest rate will cause Hive to get dumped and crash the price even more. Manipulating inflation rate has a delayed reaction. Printing more money is good in the short term and bad in the long term, while cutting yield is bad for the short term and good for the long term. HBD yields should be high during the bear market to give us a boost and low during the bull to decrease volatility. We should not try to lower the yield to make number go up. I guarantee the opposite will happen. Assume that APR is measured yearly and thus has a year delay before cutting rates would actually increase hive price.

Sort:  

I second this. Reducing HBD interest would get the hot HBD out into HIVE and dumped, crashing the price of HIVE. Surely not something we want now.

Your own witness is set to 15% though.

And if we were in the top 20 I'd have a lot more to say about that.
Although ultimately it would be very rude of me to go in there and change it.
It's not "my" witness node.
I have 2 witness partners and it is definitively a little more theirs than mine.
Just based on work done and value offered and whatnot.

If rates get reduced to 15% that's fine just let me know in advance so I can short Hive and make some easy money.

Fair enough, I was just going by the records in the Witness league table.

Yeah honestly I didn't even know we were signaling 15% which is sad.
Rishi does a lot of things I don't necessarily agree with at times.
I choose my battles carefully.