You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (UPDATED to V0.2): Strategizer Proposal: Fueling Hive's Growth/Evolution With Customized Research, Marketing Strategy Design & More!

I'm stuck and can't decide.

"Hive Census." Please correct me if I'm wrong or explain the procedure. I envision a questionnaire sitting in a quiet corner of the chain somewhere collecting dust and very few actually taking the time to fill it out accurately and honestly. Majority won't even know it exists and if they do find it or it finds them, statistically speaking, when presented with these surveys, 70% of people ignore them. AI gave me that "fact" and from my personal experience I can tell you I ignore them 100% of the time. For instance, if Peakd provided me with a popup (similar to claiming rewards in the bottom right corner) "Please fill out this survey," I'd most likely click the x to get rid of the "annoying" popup.

I've a few more concerns but I didn't come here to rip this apart or complain.

In a response here you said:

I spoke to several of the big dApp operators before writing the proposal and they all said essentially the same thing, that they really need something like this proposal in order to help their own strategy.

Perhaps once I see more of them actually supporting this proposal, I'll feel comfortable backing them up with a vote of my own. For now I'm sitting on the fence seeing a high price tag, wondering who would actually buy this or needs this.

This seems to target the entirety of Hive. Consumers of games as example would have different wants and needs than consumers of social platforms, and those here for financial aspects would see things differently as well. So I'm not sure how it all gels.

Sort:  

Thanks for your comments and questions.

The response rate of surveys varies with the context and audiences involved to some extent. In this case there is a need to take a multi-dimensional approach to gaining people's attention and motivating them to respond. This is a little different to a typical situation where a business wants to gather information in order to improve its ability to extract even more money from its customers!

This is an area that will be somewhat experimental, but we envision a combination of outreach to communities, including posting off-chain into relevant Discord servers, and the correct motivational/educational language may be sufficient to generate enough responses. I think people's opinions on Hive are one of the most commonly expressed themes on this network, so I know that many people are already motivated to respond 😄.

We also have the option of motivating verified respondents with small upvotes from a large account, but that is not ideal due to the increased motive that smaller users will then have to reply with multiple accounts and to skew the data. Ultimately, we can't KYC every respondent and we have to accept that as with all such surveys there will be a degree of manipulation and inaccuracy involved. We have plans on how to minimize this concern but we are also flexible and open to input from the community as we continue.

It's likely that we will be involved in the next town hall to discuss the proposal, so that will be an opportunity for people to give their thoughts on this area and what is or is not acceptable to them in terms of how best to proceed. I think that our existing plans will generate useful data but it's certainly possible that our approach can be improved by input from Hive's many geniuses!

The various categories of dApps on Hive will need to be taken into consideration, yes. Some areas of research will focus on topics that apply to everyone and some will be category specific.

In terms of dApp operators voting for the proposal, I can see 7 of them already in the voting list and I have received feedback already from others that they support the proposal, so I hope to see their votes soon too. By all means wait before voting, the project is due to go live on Monday, so I will be very active between now and then to gain as much support as possible.