Going After Your Dreams

DSC00172.JPG

Growing up, we all have dreams. But sooner or later, life rocks our little boat and sometimes we’re not even making it to our original destination. We docked somewhere far with some challenges ahead of us. As we get adjusted and comfortable, we slowly forget our dreams. The dreams that once we built and hoped for. In some situations, sometimes, we even created new dreams for billions of reasons. The thing is, What is the point of living if not because of hope and dreams? Isn’t that what life is built upon? Dreams and hope.

There's a common notion among Asian that your parents would want you to go to some nice college, be an engineer, doctor, banker, lawyer and, eventually , have a stable and nice family. Some, being filial children, go after their parents' dreams instead of theirs. Some find themselves to share similarities with their parent’s dreams. In some rare cases of asian parenting, they’d tell you to just go for what you want.

With all the freedom I have, there are way too many options. I tried plenty of things in life just to see where I was good at or decide who I want to be or what I am after. If I were to continue with these, a lifetime isn’t enough. I became indecisive but eventually, I managed to have a solid grasp of what I wanted in life. Just when I am at the crossroads of life, confusion and crisis, an answer seems to have found me.

A friend of mine recently came to me mentioning how she is now finally chasing after her dream. She was a senior of mine at college, a quiet person but chatty enough when she’s entertained. She told me that she was applying for the army, a military career at that. Coming from her, it was quite unpredictable. I certainly did not see that coming but she indicated that it’s something she wanted, a part of her dreams. In her late 20’s, she seems to have gained sight of her long lost dream. It probably wasn’t being an english teacher, a writer, a poet or a customer rep, but it was that, the military. When I heard that, I was happy and inspired. She doesn’t forget her dreams despite having a nice salaried job in this current economy.

At the same time, I pondered what my dreams were and whether I have worked for it. Looking back, I kinda did. I worked for my dream until life rocked my boat and the dream vanished right after my eyes. It was irreversible damage that left me stranded, scrambled and shattered. I spent a good amount just to move forward and pick a dream from the list I had. Certainly, there was a pang of guilt haunting me that tells me the if only. Then, comes the acceptance that there’s no time machine, just the present moment that will take me or you to the next one. Having a new set of dreams doesn’t make me less of a human or a failure. Like I said earlier, What is the point of living if not because of hope and dreams? Isn’t that what life is built upon? Dreams and Hope.

If you are currently stuck, not knowing where to go, lost your dreams in a boating accident, you could probably try to find it again or make new dreams if your old ones just vanished like mine.

thumbnail.jpg

Hope You Enjoyed This article! If you do, don't hesitate to upvote or comment. You can also support me below!



image.png𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢. 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘫𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘦𝘺 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘰 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭, 𝘯𝘰𝘰𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘴, 𝘱𝘳𝘰𝘥𝘶𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘮𝘪𝘯𝘪𝘮𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘴𝘵 𝘭𝘪𝘧𝘦𝘴𝘵𝘺𝘭𝘦, 𝘤𝘺𝘣𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘤𝘶𝘳𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘨𝘶𝘢𝘨𝘦𝘴. 𝘐𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘧𝘳𝘦𝘦 𝘵𝘪𝘮𝘦, 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘫𝘰𝘺𝘴 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘷𝘢𝘳𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘴. 𝘐𝘧 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘭𝘪𝘬𝘦 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘯𝘵, 𝘥𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥.
Sort:  

Smooth seas don't make good sailors. We just gotta keep on sailing according to the wind ^~

Maybe eventually we'll find an island to visit!

Hopefully, and if that doesn't happen we have fun on the way

Wise words and much needed to hear. Sometimes people don't chase their dreams because of fear of losing stability, but we have to learn to take risks at some point if we want a change in our lives.

It's always certain comfort that makes us forget about our dreams. there's also fear factor that contributes to it.

there was a pang of guilt haunting me that tells me the if only

I think most of us has this kind of feeling at some point in our life. I am one of them, but as I grew older, especially at this point in my life I have made peace with them. living my life as best as I can, and giving the best that I can for my boy. : )
sending a slice of !PIZZA to you

Great approach too, just life your life one day at a time. When was the baby born? congrats on becoming a dad😊

August last year Cem, now he is more than a year already. : )
thank you
!LOLZ

I didn't sign up for the company 401k.
I don't think I can run that far.

Credit: reddit
@macchiata, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @ekavieka

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/4)

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@ekavieka(4/5) tipped @macchiata (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Thank you for sharing this anecdote and thought about dreams. I love you analogy with a boat, and you expressed it nicely. dreams tend to fuel our actions, and they give us purpose. I think they keep us alive and valuable because we measure our worth through them too. I hope you always have a dream to motivate you, and maybe reconnect with those you left behind.

I hope the same for you! It's fascinating that these things drives our life and sometimes shapes our life purposes too.

Life is never over until we stop trying. I'm sure we'll all get to where we're going when we need to be there. Maybe on some level dreams distract us from the present... always seeking the pot of gold and not just enjoying the rainbow. Then again, without something to hope for and somewhere to go, maybe we'd all be like those Buddhist monks that meditate their lives away. Who knows, everyone has to find their own way that feels right to them. Life is only complicated when we think about it... Thanks for the read! Much love.

That, life is complicated the more you think about it. The more you see and think, it just presents you with different possible answers to a problem. Maybe the problem is simple but the answer sometimes isn't.