Copenhagen in frosty sun light

in Outdoors3 years ago (edited)

Copenhagen has been dark and wet for eternity and I have not really felt like cycling. Instead I have been strolling around my own neighbourhood with its Turkish shawarma joints, Arab supermarkets and hipster coffee shops in the gloomy afternoon. But yesterday, after a very cold night it was
all light - acidulous, painful light. I took on my shades, grabbed my bike and cycled to the inner city to buy tea.

IMG_20210115_115925.jpg
Rosenborg - Castle of Roses - and in front the field before the barracks where her Majesty's Guard resides.

IMG_20210115_115930.jpg
The German Reformed Church.

IMG_20210115_120911.jpg
New- and old-square separated in middle by the pedestrian street called Strøget. Down in the corner you can see the Copenhaden city court looking like a Greek temple, one of the most beautiful building from the neo-classical epoque. There are quite a few buildings in this style in this part of the city as much of it burned when the British bastards terror bombed us in 1807.

IMG_20210115_131546.jpg
Reflections in the windows of the house on the opposite side of the street.

IMG_20210115_132430.jpg
The old country archive on Nørrebro

IMG_20210115_132619.jpg
Borups alle - with its winter-cropped trees

Sort:  

Copenhagen is so beautiful! Hopefully after the pandemic I can finally travel and visit it.

Things go slow but I am sure we will be there. I look forward to meeting you.

My favorite city in Europe ❤