Day off in the mountains to fill the batteries

in Outdoors19 days ago

image.png

I've been having working sessions of 14 and 15 hours during the last few days including the weekend. I've been willing to take a day off to visit a friend who lives in the mountains and on Monday I called him to ask if it was ok to visit him as I was planning to take the day off. Luckily he said yes and although there is still plenty of work to do, I need to disconnect for a few hours and take the day off today.

I drove for one and a half hours to reach my destination, I had not seen my friend for more than a year now. For several times I wanted to drive and spend the day off but there was always a reason to postpone the meeting. This week, I decided to drive and take the day off because I was starting to feel I needed it.

This is a small town on the road to the skiing slopes, the place is not in the village, but up in one of the surrounding hills, the scenery is beautiful and relaxing there is just a matter of minutes, my mind gets immersed in the area the very first minute I stop the car and park it in front of the house.

I am happy with the way things are evolving with the beer project, I am enjoying it, but I need to rest my mind for a few hours to get the batteries filled all the way up again. When I enjoy what I am doing as I am in this project, it is hard for me not to think about it all the time, I can be working in front of the computer for 15 hours, stopping only for a few minutes to eat until I get the task I am working on finished, and even after I do, I usually keep thinking on it to slightly improve it after I rest for a while. Over the years, I have learned I am way more productive if I rest one day after several intense days of work. No matter if I am enjoying it, resting is part of the journey and today I will enjoy every minute of it.

When I was a day trader I learned part of your work is not to trade the days the market is not in the best conditions, today, my work is to relax and enjoy the day with my old friend.