More orchids in my garden this year.

in Orchid Loverslast year (edited)

This year I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of orchids in my garden. At first, I thought the orchids would be few and far in between because of the very dry summer months and I had never given them any fertiliser. I did buy some special imported fertiliser last year but I couldn’t recall where I stashed these two packets. So, I was resigned to the fact that the orchids would probably go on strike or protest against my unfair treatment in terms of basic orchid rights!

But they have been so kind to me! They knew exactly when to bloom so as to cheer me up and get me out of melancholy mood. Those orchids near the front yard have hours of afternoon sunshine. They just keeps giving out new flowers every week. Some orchids are under the big canopy at the back of our garden; I didn’t expect them to flower at all this year. However, they also surprised me when I went around watering some plants at the backyard. I had to walk around checking out various orchids on tree trunks.

Some specially big orchids weren’t showing sign of flowering buds at all. These were the ten big types of orchids my old friend gifted me three years ago. They did give a show of various colours during the first two years. But they didn’t look very happy under the shade of growing hardwood trees. I ought to get someone to trim more branches soon.

These orchids were slowly growing on my consciousness. It seemed they had a way to tell me that I neglected them for too long. We are more concerned about fruit trees and have them organic fertiliser at intervals. I promised them I would find the time to concoct some organic tonic just for orchids soon.

Most people spray chemical fertiliser on their orchids, so I never buy this type of fertiliser at all. I might have to try a solution of cow dung in water; local people make use of dry cow dung on fruit trees. I really have to experiment somehow; orchids do some supplements from time to time just like my fruit trees. If orchid were edible, I would have been much faster in giving them some fertiliser! But having beautiful orchids on tree trunks has been quite spiritually uplifting which is better than them being edible.

Perhaps it was the surprising factor, when I wasn’t expecting anything, lovely and beautiful orchids just sprung out of three trunks. They gave good vibes to clear my mind and perception without demanding anything in return. They were just there to remind me of the silent power of Mother Nature.

I was very grateful to them so I walked around the garden talking to my orchids and thanking them for putting up with my erratic behaviour. To some shabby looking orchids, I had to say sorry for neglecting them for such a long time. We’ll have to see if these big orchids had forgiven me. I would wait and see their reactions in a month.

D7B965F9-5C30-4F75-86CE-6D35F31A30C5.jpeg

463BCA4D-B73A-4C6F-AF85-835E7538824B.jpeg

CBCF5265-B866-4DC4-B645-BCD42EC3FAEB.jpeg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

Sort:  

So lovely!

A note on feeding: be careful of things with a lot of nitrogen in them. Plants grow fast but nitrogen weakens them and they become susceptible to pests and diseases. Think huge farms where they use tons of nitrogen fertilizer and then are forced to use pesticides, etc because the resulting problems.

Nitrogen is necessary for plant health WHEN THE SOIL IS TOO COLD for the biology to create it. So I use it in the spring only when my soil hasn’t warmed enough. If you have healthy biology you should have sufficient nitrogen.

Cow manure doesn’t have as much nitrogen as chicken but if it’s warm now it might be too much.

This is very interesting! Thanks so much for very useful knowledge. I don’t use chicken manure at all, sometimes I allowed very little cow manure. I preferred the organic solution fertiliser.

The soil is still very warm so things are okay and we have more earthworms than previous years!

Some pretty orchids that is, maybe they also thought of going on a strike. But then maybe they also thought that they are too beautiful to do that haha. Seeing them everyday will surely brighten up anyone's day ,🤩✨

I hope they won’t go on strike for too long! Waiting to more surprises!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @kaminchan.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks do much for your kind support.

Orchids are really beautiful flowers, they decorate the house and give us beauty so that we can live a peaceful and comfortable life.

Such a beautiful orchid

Wow! You saw my old post! Thanks a lot for your kind words.

you're welcome my friend, just surving some communities and found your post, didn't realize it was an old one 😅