Sort:  

Congratulations @abitcoinskeptic! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 80000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Thank yous ~ ♡♡♡

Hi,

I actually read this article together with my two boys. They kept looking at my cell phone to see what was so interesting. Basically I can't use my cell phone at home.

My kids have visited the West sea a lot in the past and enjoyed your article. They go with their grandparents to I guess 안명도. They were not surprised about the power plant but laughed.

Also, they were not surprised that your temperature was taken as they get there temperature taken a lot at places too. Maybe it was a general standard for all people.

I think the New York Times is not the only company moving in from Hong Kong. Places like Songdo will probably be a popular option for relocation given close access to schools, hospitals and the airport.

I still like the East Coast better but twenty years ago the East Coast was amazing. There was no highway to get there and the only train was super round about so getting there was a fun challenge. Maybe that was half the nostalgia, but mostly the place was quiet and clean and I felt like I was in another country. I don't have the same feeling about the East sea today.

The West Sea bothers me because the water doesn't look like water. It kind of looks like a muddy bath.

Anmyeondo is where the west coast gets nice for about 100km until we start getting close to Gunsan, then it gets nasty for a bit there, too. It's nice your kids can chill with their grandparents somewhere nice.

I was at Danjin last weekend, which is also home to a massive coal plant, even closer to a more popular beach, lol. It's part of the reason why the air is so bad when it's blowing from that coast, combined with Chinese factories, it becomes unbearable.

There were dozens of people walking on to the beach, including my wife and a couple Korean looking friends we were with (one was HongKong Chinese). The security guard jumped out of his hut, ran over to me with a thermometer, asked to see my ID, wrote some stuff down and took my temperature. He ignored everyone else including the other foreigner who he didn't know was a foreigner. Actually, this has happened at another place I will write about soon which is a UNESCO heritage site controlled by the government (they checked some Vietnamese people). One was in Hwaseong and the other in Incheon, but both are relatively rural places there, it seems to be some misinformation. As I said, it's a stupid policy based on something other than sound reason.

We have thermal cameras in the first floor of my office tower. I asked the guard last week and he said 10 people in about that many months. However, they stop anyone not wearing a mask. I've heard it only really makes sense in places where you will be removing your mask or where there are a lot of vulnerable people like airports, hospitals and elderly people hotspots (I guess that is becoming everywhere in Korea).

I've taken the slow train to the east coast once. I heard stories from my friend who first came here in 1983. Now there are several trains. I can imagine it was much better. Once I rode my bike from Uljin to the DMZ along a trail that does the entire Gangwondo Coast, that was amazing, I found a lot of cool little places. Nowadays Yeongdeok is the only somewhat isolated place along the entire coast.

The water in the west sea is mostly gross. I always shower shortly after leaving it. It's nasty even without the intense industrialization. Oddly, the South is nice and the industrialization is as intense down there.

Your replies are always interesting and informative. At our school we check every student with thermal cameras. They are checked again by homeroom teachers so I kind of got used to it, but singling out one person is wrong. Sorry it had to be like that.