The Small Solar Generator Did Not Work Like I Thought It Would!

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE3 years ago (edited)

I got my order in from Amazon. I got the 12-volt adapter so I could hook my CPAP machine to the little solar generator. My first disappointment was the adapter would not work. So it cancelled out that idea.

So I went with the next idea, as it has a 120-volt plug, I wanted to try that way. I took the humidifier off of the CPAP as it draws a lot of power. It has an electric element in it that heats the water to steam as all humidifiers have. I ran it to see how long it would run the CPAP like that, it ran for about 4 hours. So that idea went out of the window.

It takes 5 hours of drive time to charge the little solar generator, so 4 hours run time with 120-volt and five hours of drive time to charge. I can get a solar panel to charge it but I was trying to do it as cheap as possible as I have to do this out of pocket, means what I have to spend is limited.

This idea will work but I have to get a bigger solar generator and a solar panel to do this. So it will take me a little longer to get this done. Most solar generators are about 1 dollar per watt-hour. So I will send this back and get a refund for this on and continue to save to get what I can get one I can use and a solar panel with it to charge it up. I can drive to charge the solar generator up but I will not be driving, many times 5 hours or more.

I could get a generator to do this but then there is another expense and I would have to carry gas with me and I do not want to do that, as I will be carrying propane already for the camp stove. Propane is in a sealed container and gas will not be really sealed and we all know it can stink. The fewer things I carry to blow me up the better, LOL.

I will have to save and research some more and find a better solar generator for what I want to do. I am not quitting I just hit a bump in the road and I have to fix a flat, so to speak. I will be running an extension cord to the truck and while I am home I will sleep in the truck to get that all figured out, I was hoping to use the solar generator, to see how that would work also, to run the CPAP but not able to do that as of now.

I have another solar generator in mind, with a solar panel, as a package, but it will take me some more time to get it. I know it will work as I have talked to a few others that are using it for the same thing I am and it works for them and they are in one place for a week at a time. It was not in my price range for a quick "jump on it" thing. I have contacted the company and they are helping by giving me 15% off of the package, it is still like 600.00 dollars though. So it will take some time for me to get that package. It will happen, just not as fast as I wanted it to.

After I get started and I am out traveling the U.S. I want some feedback from my followers on what they want to see and I will make some videos of those places and post them with some pictures. it is just an idea I had and I think it is a good idea. So this is just an update on what is happening and I am moving forward, maybe slow but forward. I hope everyone has a good day/night, whatever it is in your part of the world. ALWAYS FORWARD!

If you want to help me in this endeavor please upvote and follow. I am saving all of the HBD from my posts to get the things I need to get this started and to keep me going. I will not power-down my account and this will help me build my account here on Hive and the HBD from posts will help me on my journey. Thanks!

Do Not Forget To Upvote, Follow, and Reblog This Post!
2r8F9rTBenJQfQgENfxADE6EVYabczqmSF5KeWefV5WL9WG8fa6GehkuvCk8dNBgDZL4Wtas7WJVDczC2s7evGj4qgKcaMHTZN2cw72zf8kMxursZx1MVjb2iTLa1hz4N.jpg
source

Please Help Support Our Veterans And Our Veteran Witnesses

My Post 5 400 x 267.jpg

Sort:  

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Aw man, sorry to hear that the generator didn't work out, but good that you were able to test it first. I'm sure you'll get something soon!

Thanks! I try to go out on a whim but I like to make sure it will not leave me high and dry. LOL

Hope you find a suitable unit soon.

Thanks! I am working on it.
Just working the bugs out of the plan. LOL

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @freedomtowrite on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening