My Struggles as a Student Nurse

1.png

"Nursing is an art" countless times I hear my clinical teachers using that phrase again and again. In every discussion, return demonstration, or even in group reports, they always remind us that nursing is an art. a simple, concise phrase yet with a hidden deeper meaning.


Nursing is an art in a way that every decision, every process, every action is carefully thought to achieve that highest quality of life for the patient. Regardless of how many procedures that the nurse encounters in every duty, nurses use critical thinking in carrying out such.

We desire to achieve the highest quality of life for outpatients that's why they always come first in everything. Being a student nurse, I can relate to this since I experienced being on hospital duty before the pandemic.

But now as a nursing student, transitioning from physical classes to virtual classes has been difficult at first. I will not sugarcoat my experience as to how people consider it to be easier since we have all the access to the internet in a single click. no, it is not easier and it is most unexpectedly challenging. I admit I was not prepared for it at all. The online class dynamics are different from that of the physical classes.

2.png

Moreover, hospital duties were postponed since it is far too risky for us to be exposed and the institution values our safety and health. I was constantly feeling melancholic reminiscing about the moments where I get to go out with my friends after an exhausting day full of tests, or even be in hospital duty engaging with the patients assigned to me.

Yes, I still experience hardships but it is different every time the sun sets and you realize that the day is over and you have no means of releasing that exhaustion but to close your laptop, browse through social media, and/or sleep. you can't hear your friends echoing laughter, their smiles comforting you that everything is going to be okay or that reassuring feeling that tomorrow is going to be another exhausting day but your friends will be there for you.

One struggle that I always encounter is studying. I happen to have a bad habit of studying. In simple words, I need ample time to study before I can fully grasp the lectures. I do not learn enough in watching videos of my clinical teachers explaining the topics, I get too easily distracted with technology. Back when classes were still physical, I can easily be on track on the discussion while also taking down notes even though my teacher talks too fast. There's something about discussions that are physically carried out that I prefer.

3.png

My mind can easily remember and study better than in virtual classes. I mean, who wants to sit down, listen and take notes on a 2-hour long video in your home while the bed looks so tempting. It's almost like the bed is enchanting you to lay down or the mere fact that you could just save the video and watch it later (and eventually you will forget that there's a video you needed to watch instead of K-Dramas) since it bores you so much.

but in virtual classes? my attention span is limited. I get easily distracted and I cannot study well (I happen to study on midterms only) even though we have mini-tests every day which I unexpectedly can wing it, yes indeed stock knowledge is beneficial! Anyway, I can consume 4-5 cups of instant coffee yet I still manage to get sleepy. I was so desperate to stay awake and study that I tried asking people for alternative coffees. I tried the Starbucks coffee with 4 shots of espresso, still, it did not affect me. I even asked myself that maybe I have a too high tolerance for caffeine that it doesn't work on me anymore. One friend even told me that maybe I was having a sugar crash (too much sugar in my coffee makes me sleepy instead of awake). until now the search still is going on and if ever you do have suggestions, I am open to hearing and accepting them. Until then, as I will be having my hospital duty this first week of December, I hope to share with you my duty experience.

--end--

hive closing banner.png

Sort:  

Aw you did well! I have high respect for people working in the medical field especially under this pandemic. I do understand the struggle of doing virtual classes and the activities you need to do, it can be exhausting. But do take a break when you have to. Stay strong and keep safe. ☺️

Nurses are underappreciated here in Ph, and I'm glad that you guys really pursue this profession despite some discrimination from some. I hope you well po on online classes. As a fellow college student, it's hard to talaga especially studying. We have the same struggle, as in, all strugges you've mentioned is 100% similar to mine T^T During f2f, I have no struggle din po going with the lesson. But online classes really turn the table 180 degrees :<<< But, I can only say one thing, "Fighting!" 🤍

I can't imagine you guys having this online class. Especially SA inyohang courses :( But, You're doing well! Wish you all the best 😙☺️ Ajaaaaaaaaaa!!! ✨

But now as a nursing student, transitioning from physical classes to virtual classes has been difficult at first.

Same here! I am an OT intern as well and treating patients via teletherapy has been very stressful. I also had a difficult time coping with the transition brought about by these unprecedented times. Good luck with your hospital duty 🤗🤗🤗💕 Take care always!

Congratulations @arnyray! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21

I am so proud of you dae for being able to do it. Ka kapoi Jud bya mag nursing. 😊 sure jd ko, proud kaau imong mommy nimo😊😊 keep inspiring others dae 🥰

those darn tempting K-dramas!! :P that was a nice peak into how a student nurse thinks. I never considered how it is.. in-person vs virtual learning.

caffeine pills. u should try. all the caffeine without the sugar. i used to take those before workouts. u get em at any vitamin/health type shop or i would just buy it online from bodybuilding.com. they do ship to PH, but i'm sure u could find it cheaper locally.

Online classes have really barred actual learning, especially for medical courses like yours. I agree, people tend to think that studying online is so easy because we're are the comfort of our homes, and that we can face our laptops all day, nothing ould be further from the truth. Let's just hope this pandemic ends once and for all. Wishing you the best!!

Hang in there, Yray. It may be difficult but you are doing it every day nonetheless 🙌 Also, I think you could try green tea instead of coffee. It may not be as tasty but the health benefits are higher. I also learned that mini exercises will help too because in moments of inactivity, the heart slows down to a point that your body thinks you are on your way to sleep--hence the sleepy feeling. So for long boring sessions, you may try walking in place or even arm exercises while sitting just to keep heart rate at a steady pace 😊