You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Executive decisions

Being retired, I am fortunate enough to not have to make executive decisions, I was also fortunate enough for most of my career to not have to make executive decisions, (except the last 5 years of work life). My particular job also was not conducive to a work at home situation.

I did prefer the late shifts and the midnight shifts, and to this day I still have a hard time doing anything pre-noon wise. I have gotten better at getting up in the mornings, but I still like the night. I do my best work when dead tired so the first hour I wake up and am still groggy I think pretty good, the last hour before sleep cycle starts I think pretty good. If my wife needs me to get an answer for what ever then we will be up all night until I am totally dead tired and then the answer will come.

So I guess the best work time/solution solving time is at the point of exhaustion for me.

Sort:  

You think better when at the point of exhaustion? That's odd...I mean I've often had to make decisions under pressure and fatigue, but I'd say my best decision-making time is when I'm fresh and rested. I'm looking forward to making executive decisions when I don't have to punch the clock for someone else...Should I sleep in, or not. Should I go hiking or people watch at the café? Should I take a road trip around the countryside for a month or so or fly back to New Zealand?

I know it seems odd, but I really am more creative when I am tired, and when I am super tired is when I start to see other options that I may have missed, that surface I guess from the subconsciousness. I was always able to think clear at normal times, but my best thinking was exhaustion.

If the strategy works then roll with it. I prefer to sleep when I'm super tired. 😁