Escape To Xcaret - A New Watercolor Painting with 30 Second Video of Process!

I Created A New Painting!!! ..

As promised in my last post. It's a black and white watercolor painting that was mostly inspired by a visit to the Xcaret Eco Park in Mexico. Also a little bit inspired by the lack of travel recently. I am attempting to escape into my memories and into my mind. It's a wonder that I even finished this one without having a few beers.. for memories sake! haha. I was good and put the drinking aside for a while, at least till I was finished this piece. After that, all bets were off. Aawwee man.. I can't lie.. I finished this one at 11pm last night and went strait to bed. I will make good on my promise to have a celebratory beer today! I promise!


On A Side Note.. I did pick up some BEER and will be having a few in about 30 minutes! I LOVE when the have a nice variety pack of local beer!!!
IMG_6867.JPG


On To The Inspiration ..

1590341127.jpg
Source

Several years back, on one of our trips to the Riviera Cancun area of Mexico, we planned a day trip to this ecopark Xcaret. It was very fun and relaxing, and now this group had made a huge company out of this type of tourism attraction. They have many different parks in the same general area of Mexico. We have had the privilege to visit many of them.. and have enjoyed them all. Even if you do not like the water, this park has plenty to see and do, but it would be better if you enjoyed getting wet.

We spent as much time in the water as out of it. The scenery was fantastic and probably what I enjoyed most of all. Plentiful amounts of natural beauty surrounded us all day long. Here are a few of the photos we took while there..

DSC02122 2.JPG

DSC02101.JPG

DSC02102.JPG

DSC02103.JPG

DSC02117.JPG

DSC02118.JPG

DSC02127.JPG

I Chose A Photo To Work From ..

I picked a cropped version of the last photo and I converted it to black and white. I was feeling black and white and may go back and make a colored version as well. I like this photo, because it sort of sums up the natural beauty of the ocean side landscape well. I could just sit in this spot all day sipping beer and taking a siesta.

Escape_to_xcaret0125485.jpg

Black & White ..

Is the color palette for 'Escape to Xcaret'. Because I was so plain and mysterious with the color choice, I decided to keep it running throughout the progress photos portion of the post. I shot all the photos in good old B&W for maximum visual impact and to save a little something for your imagination.. Color!

Time and Materials ..

I spent about 10 minutes creating the piece and shrunk it down to about 30 seconds for the video up top. Not a lot of time for a painting, but I didn't utilize much color and it's really quite a simple piece. It was fun and got me back creating again.. and that was the whole point. I made mention yesterday that it was time to paint, and that's what I did. I gathered up a brush, some old water (now green at the bottom..yuck!), a piece of blotting towel, one black Derwent watercolor pencil, and finally a roughly 5 inch by 7 inch piece of watercolor paper. A short, basic list of essential items. All that was left to gather was a little inspiration and guidance.

Progression Shots ..

Instead of progress shots this time, I shot a time-lapse video. In case you missed it, its at the very top of this post. Otherwise, I did shoot a few photos of the finished piece in various positions, and posted those below.

The simple supplies..

IMG_6850.JPG

All that I needed to make this painting a reality..

IMG_6855.JPG

IMG_6856.JPG

I think the shells add a nice forefront to the theme here..

IMG_6864.JPG

IMG_6863.JPG

I'll set it up here to dry in the sun a little before putting in under pressure to keep it flat.

IMG_6859.JPG

My Help Today! ..

Of course I can not do a single thing around here without my helper, Pepper. He was obviously overwhelmed with the instinct to sniff at my painting and then sit by it just in case there would be cookies handed out at this art reveal. To his disappointment and dismay, there were none. WAIT! Just messing with you.. He did get one.. my wife brought up one for him since he missed the cookie handout, a bit ago, after a potty break for Molly. Hahaha! He's such a good little helper and a good friend :)

IMG_6866.JPG

IMG_6865.JPG

'Escape To Xcaret'

IMG_6861.JPG

text16.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day my fellow Hivesters!

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

text16.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

text16.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

text16.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocdb, @art-venture, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @theluvbug, @c-squared, and @helpie - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

text16.png
text16.png

DSC03088.JPG

“Painting is poetry that is seen rather than felt, and poetry is painting that is felt rather than seen.”

― Leonardo da Vinci

text16.png
text16.png

Sort:  

That was a fast video paining. I think it came out good. pepper seemed to have liked it also.

My painting hand is very quick! Let me tell ya.. haha. Pepper was happy with the smell of it. 😆

Nice work! Xcaret is not only fun but also inspiring!

I have to say that most of the parks they own, that we have been to, were fun and also very clean and well cared for. Friendly staff too. Food was good as well. Thanks for stopping bye!

So, is it called "waterblackandwhite" then?

Haha.. I should have called it that I guess. 'Escape To Xcaret' .. In case your weren't kidding. I think I am liking 'Waterblackandwhite' more!!

I was joking about the technique, but I actually find it amazing. I have tried monochrome watercolor but never with black.

Unless it's only the photos that are black and white. Yeah, otherwise, I have published B&W edits of watercolor. It sometimes look good enough. I am a fan of B&W photography in general.

I figured you were.. hahahehe. I have long enjoyed both B&W photography and painting in B&W. It's a bit challenging, but rewarding if your able to pull it off. Not sure this painting is that good.. it's very simple.. but it was fun practice. I really need to get back to some more serious pieces. time time time is always my enemy!

The most neutral of enemies ;) And an ally be necessity. Enjoy time ;)


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here

Great stuff Brad, keep up the good work @bdmillergallery

Thanks Jerry! Hope all is well.

Wow! This is so beautiful! 😍😍😍 I wish I could paint..

Awe thank you! I think you would surprise yourself. I think everyone can paint. Your probably better than you think you are 😊

Hahaha! 😂 Thank you for the encouragement! 😍

It is great to use memories to inspire your art. What a lovely park!

Memories are the best for inspiration .. Thank goodness most of my memories are good ones. Otherwise my art would be very dark. Unless I like dark things, then that's okay too! haha. It was an awesome park 😁