Tuesday Black and Whites

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

monochromatic tuesday.png

It All Started In The Basement ..

Yesterday, I was up and down the basement steps several times looking for this and that. At one point I was bending down and noticed that the afternoon light was shinning through one window, reflecting off of a mirror and casting light across several of my wine bottles.

I thought it looked pretty cool, so I shot a few frames in black and white. I made some slight adjustments to the original photograph in order to get just a hint of a bottle in the far background. I thought that it came out pretty good.

I like how only the tip of the last bottle can be seen, with virtual blackness surrounding it. The end of the cork is glistening white in the bright light.

IMG_2705 2.JPG

These are the same bottles, only shot from a different angle. Please try not to judge me on the cleanliness of the bottles. As you can see the dust is beginning to settle on the tops of the glass wine bottles. Before I am too hard on myself, does anyone really dust of the wine bottles in their wine cellar?

IMG_2706 2.JPG

Later in the day, I still had black and white photography on the brain. I just couldn't pass up the opportunity to capture these Purple Cone Flowers in a raw monochromatic form. I spotted them still teeming with beauty, as they rested at the edge of the property.

IMG_2683 3.JPG

I also think the right backdrop can change the entire feel of a photo. For instance, in the first photo the background is blurred and fuzzy, allowing the flower to take center stage. In this next shot, the background is comprised of a painted wooden wall, adding in additional texture. It may be just a little to light for my taste. When the background in a black and white photo, is similar in shade to the subject, then the subject tends to fade away.

IMG_2685 2.JPG

Changing the angle of the shot, sometimes captures the reflected light in a slightly different way, increasing the chances developing natural contrast; a contrast between the subject and the background. My eyes are even being drawn to the variegation along the stems, and the pronounced veins of the leaves.

IMG_2684 2.JPG

For fun, I thought I would try and capture a little fly that was pestering me the whole time I was walking around this yard. He or she finally came to rest on an American Holly leaf where I succeeded in immortalizing it!

I only wish the little guy was in focus. The depth of field must of been slightly off , lending to the background being in better focus than the mid point. A photographer can't win them all, so I accept this failure and move along.

IMG_E2408.JPG

This was obviously a quick impromptu series of shots, but nevertheless, its always fun to shoot monochromatic shots time and again. It's interesting what reveals itself when you strip away color. Try it, you could surprise yourself.

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

IMG_2838 2.JPG

“Love is ageless and colorless. It is a spiritual force that binds two hearts and two souls together as one.”

― Ellen J. Barrier, The Price We Must Pay for Our Father's Sins

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocd, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @innerblocks, @appreciator and @theluvbug, - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Oh yes! Dust! That's my nemesis every time I try to take a macro. Where does it all keep coming from?? It's a mystery to me, too.

I really do like that first short of the wine bottles. Really snazzy.

Dust in the wind.. All we are is dust in the wind... Where have I heard that before? 😆

It's endless and annoying. just floats all around and all the time. DUST!!

Thanks for the compliment. I have to break out the camera and shoot more soon. It's always a good time.

Are you kidding me? I don't dust the TV in my living room. Wine bottles in the basement is way past my capabilities :)

Wonderful photography, just lovely. I really like how you showed us the 'money shot' and the other choices.

I just love purple coneflower. It's right up there with my all time favorites. Thanks for including them today!

There are a few cone flowers hanging on to summer around here, but i think their time is limited. Nights are getting much cooler here. Hell with the dust I say. It just never stops. Thanks for the comment and the support!! Have a great weekend if I don't see you soon. 😊

brilliant shot mate, The black and white is neat

I always love black and white.. something about it appeals to me. 😊

Its just so original. 💙

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @stevenson7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.io/diyhub!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you! I will head over and check it out 😊