You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Marking a Physics paper (aka: Pay your teachers more... aaka: the system is borked!)

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago

Yes, it would definitely be unsustainable as a classroom teacher. That is a pity that the system really sets it up like that.

Thankfully, I only teach on a one-to-one basis and I charge a fee that I figure is a good match for the time and effort that I put towards my students. It is higher than the "lowest" rate and so I do have a number of new students get turned away by that. However, there are students that share my details by word of mouth and they appreciate that the pricing is reflective of the extra input and effort.

Sort:  

Sounds like you've got it pretty sorted!

Shame it's the only way really.

The teaching system and the pay scale is a disgrace.

Can you imagine being in a school now? In the Covid Times? It must be nuts.

Ack... my kids tell me about the teachers constantly needing to get tests, or just getting sick. It really feels like no-one cares... as long as the kids are out of the house!

Ohh it does sound grim!

Teachers have steadily had more and more duties piled on them, but this is a step too far!