Comment Commitment: Scramble Edition

One Month Left in 2020

There is one month left in 2020 (Hello December) for me to complete my commitment to end the year with 12,000 comments. My friend Will I Makeit is wondering how I'm doing.

Promnitory Ridge.JPG
Promnitory Ridge: The meeting point of the first Transcontinental Railroad in the US.

I have always believed that engagement is THE key to getting to know people on Hive and to that end I always try to leave good personal comments on posts that I have read and enjoyed.

It can and does lead to Hive success. Through comments I can also serve as an example to newer Hivers that are finding their way. I want them all to stay and to thrive here.

I started this self commitment in August with @bashadow and @galenkp. My original goal was to end the year with a modest 10,100 comments. After a month I altered that to a much more realistic 12,000. On October 31 I had totaled 10,421.

image.png

As you can see I have 11,341 comments a total for 920 comments in the month of October. That is around 80 short of where I wanted to be a month ago, but it IS on track to make my commitment. I need 659 comments in November to make my total commitment. I can do this deal!

I think I'll make it. I am considering a goal for 2021, an ambitious goal. I have a whole month to think about it!

So why don't you take a swing at this? You could do as I have, pick some low ball number that you KNOW you can make with ease, or do like @galenkp and make a ridiculous commitment. The choice is yours, and you can leave your commitment in the comments section, and count it as your first effort toward your goal!

Then just a simple post at the end of each month to share how you are doing and you are set. Make sue you use #comment-commitment as one tag and you are well on the path to glory and riches.

All words and photographs in this post are mine, including the screenshot. For better or worse

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All.

@sultnpapper Truth Teller and Poker Player.

@jangle Because Jangle A great writer and serious hustler.

@tarazkp Great writing and lots of it!

@galenkp Most engaging guy on Hive.

Sort:  

Nice work mate, I'm sure you'll make it.

I smashed my 32,500 target...Here's today:

1,277 over target at the moment, I reckon I'll hit 34,500 by 31 December. We'll see.

image.png

You reminded me that I need to reset my goal, or at the very least start thinking about some targets for 2021. I will get on it. Thanks for the prompt.

I have no doubt that you will make your goal unless the internet just vanishes from the face of the earth.
The only other reason might be that the government decides internet communications are found to be a super spreader of Covid virus and limit the usage only to three comments a day on any social media site.
Other than those two things I see nothing stopping you,
Sult

Ahahahaha. I think I'll make it. If need be I'll wear my mask sitting here. Or not. I have a nice little microfiber towel sitting over my camera so nobody can sneak a peek at me. I'm not paranoid, just practical.

Did you notice some parts of the innerwebs had a problem last week (day before Thanksgiving)? I just found out what happened. Amazon was adding space in their cloud and whoopsie, the whole thing went down for a few minutes. The ripples lasted for hours.

Speaking of Amazon, they've added 1.2 million workers in the year that most companies have been laying off. 700,000 in the US. Think how brutal the employment numbers would be without that boost.

So just sign me: Your friend-not employed by Amazon.

I guess that would have to be classified as an Amazon rain storm I guess.
Have you watched any of that Arizona legislator meeting today about the election?
Very disturbing to hear just how things went on out there behind the scenes.
Sult

I haven't watched any, but have done some reading. It's NOT a legislative hearing. It's in a Hotel ballroom a couple of miles from the capitol. It's officially listed as a gathering (no authority what so ever). The woman leading that pack is just a freaking nut job. Seriously. She has 0 traction outside her district and nobody in AZ takes her even remotely seriously. Maybe that commission should look into voter fraud that gets that crazy bitch elected. Just sayin'

I'm not buying their bullshit. Arizona has had a huge % of mail voting for years and their security has had enough checks that I trust it. Nothing changed except that the Dems won. And anybody that couldn't see that coming wasn't looking.

It is weird to me to see Arizona listed in blue, I have to admit.

I didn't say it was a legislative hearing, I said legislator meeting and if was officially listed as a gathering I stand corrected. The local people from Maricopa County who worked as poll watchers for the elections had some various serious accusations as to how the counting process took place. The machines that verified signatures started at the recommended settings for sensitivity and were steadily turned down to the point of being turned off because so many signatures didn't match the signature on record in the computer.
If you get a chance you might want to actually see some of that gathering, all the people have sworn signed under penalty of perjury to what they said. I know you're not buying their bullshit like you said, but you might be interested to know that several witnesses said the mail in vote as been manipulated for several years in AZ. Both republicans and dems doing it, just depending on the county and the administration.
Sult

Here's my problem. No questions from anybody but the 6 handpicked legislators. No questions from reporters, no questions from other legislators, no filed statements. Under their protocol McSally should have won too. In fact, McSally should have won both elections she lost.

I did find some irregularity. About 2% of voters voted for Kelly and not Biden. So they voted against Trump's girl and for Trump? What? How does that square up against the idea that one side loaded the dice in the presidential race?

Not a single race in the state went anything but chalk, as polled before the election unless you count McSally's showing. The polls all had her losing by 6 to 10% and she only lost by 3. If you remove 2% of the Trump votes you remove 2% of all the votes on that ballot and not a single race shows that. Not a one.

I'm no mathematician but anytime votes are counted with decimal values anything and everything is possible. More than one expert witness showed mathematical evidence that a vote for Biden was weighted to 1.30 and a vote for tRump was calculated at 0.70 in value. This weighted voted value is a "feature" listed in the Dominion printed literature about the Dominion voting systems. It can be assigned to individual races not the whole ballot.

I have said it before and I'll say it again, one vote should count as 1 and not 1.00 , that way it can't be converted and corrupted.

I can say with some confidence that the problems with these Dominion systems have been known for some time that is why the State of Texas would't certify Dominion systems for use in our state. I would also say with some confidence that some republicans have used this to fix elections in the past as well, just not to the extent that seems to have happened this year. The machines used in Texas aren't exempt from being manipulated either, all computer based systems are vulnerable, but the Texas machines don't advertise it.

An investigation needs to take place in all 50 states before the next elections in 2022 for the midterms. I know that the Hart Inter Civic voting machines have been implicated before as well in Kentucky back in 2019. I don't know if they advertise the weighted vote feature but any computer run system could have the algorithm written to do it.

It really sucks that as a country we have elected officials that will allow computer voting, knowing damn well it can be manipulated.

There are plenty of people who would volunteer to tabulate the vote. Put a person from each party at the table, and one independent, and let those people examine each signature, ballot and record the vote. Sure it would take more time but it seems to be the only way to get an honest election.
Just my thoughts,
Sult

Hahah I wouldn't put it past the criminals to try and link it together! Especially on hive where we don't have censorship or moderators deleting things that offend a cup of jello.

They really cracked down on usability of mainstream social media, even our news here have been manipulated propaganda for years people are only seeing it now how algos have been rigging the system all along now the censorship is probably one of the last blow.

4ochng.jpg

Yeah it's crazy what goes on. I'm glad that I'm not wasting time on the mainstream social media platforms any longer! Did you hear about I think along the Canadian eastern coast the government did a false flag where they were scaring people saying wolves were around and even deployed speakers that were playing howling and shit. They sent out a letter to residents telling them to be wary of the wolves even though there were no wolves at all. What the hell?

Great meme lol

omg, seriously, that's shameless if they really did that. I didn't hear about that i'll have to look into it. They are pulling all kinds of fake shit around here these days. Are you sure it wasn't a major mining company's bird deterrent tho? and someone got confused and called it in and people turned into more than it was? I'm not saying it didn't happen but we do use a similar technology with birds to keep them off sites and tailing ponds. Some of it sounds like wolves or other animal screams of your choice randomly to prevent geese from moving in. It trips up a lot of people and hard to figure out it's fake until you hear t-rex and tetradactyl getting into it and be like damn I know t-rex aint hiding behind that reactor! We know about it on site but new people don't and we always pretend there are wolves on site just to mess with them because it does sound real and if you don't know it's a recording. Either way, I must look for more info on this, it's really greasy if they did that intentionally to scare people.

I still use facebook because all my real life friends and connections are there, they are not moving here anytime soon (by that I meant anytime at all for that matter). I don't post much besides my photos or some links to my work here there. Nothing too special.

You have no idea how much that meme makes me giggle. My first Ex was named Karen..

Lol, I feel a little bad for the real Karen of the world. I know a few and they are not like that at all. They handle it well tho. I decided to be childish and kill time on a meme generator, It went downhill fast. lol

Was your ex a Karen like the one on the meme? I have to ask... lol

I have a meme making contest, you should join the fun and try making a few... Become a meme-ologist.

I have offended many cups of Jello. Back in the day when it was a thing I was quite good at snorting Jello with my nose. College students are easily amuzed...

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

You are sure to hit the target, why not, after all it's fun reading and commenting ain't it?

Been around the world in 80 days and back again here on Hive through the lens of friends.

Hive is still able to open up discussion, enjoy truthful comments with very little crap in between.

Waiting in the wings with lagging internet connectivity so 2021 will be a time to rejoice away from ADSL. cellular towers that always go down, fibre optic has been rolled out in town switching on during Jan/Feb something to look forward to at long last, watch out here I come.

Have an awesome last month @bigtom13 we gracefully take leave of 2020, revving up for 2021.

It's about as much fun as I know of on the internet.

You are going to like fiber optic internet. Speed and reliability. I live right out toward the edge of civilization and it works well for me.

And yes, we are all looking forward to 2021. No doubt about it.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Looks like you are doing well and you should have no problem hitting your comment goal. Even if things fall off a bit because of the holidays. I actually think things will probably be more active as opposed to less. With the crypto markets doing what they are doing, lots of people are posting again.

I really hope that you are right and the post count improves. I REALLY want Hive to succeed. I'm pretty optimistic due to several factors, not the least of which is LEO. I think they are showing us a path toward big growth..

Yeah, LEO has been pretty impressive. I wish I hadn't jumped on board so late. Story of my life I guess...

Me too! My grandmother used to say (Think heavy German Accent) "Ve grow too soon old und too late schmart."

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

That's a pretty lofty goal but you are almost there...that's a lot of work put in! Congrats on getting close to accomplishing your commitment. Great job🦾

I don't have a solid commitment per say...just not to quit seems reasonable enough for now! I'll probably be talkative for a while and then quiet for another like usual.

Thank you. I'm putting some thought into next year. The easy answer would be double but I plan to travel some and I get pretty quiet when I travel. So I'll try to factor that in.

I'm not much of a goals guy normally. I like to use waypoints. But publicly showing this goal has kept me from the 'quiet times' that are pure sloth. Nothing can keep me from the quiet of travelling.

There is a lot of truth in what you said! "But publicly showing this goal has kept me from the 'quiet times' that are pure sloth". I'm not sure it would for me. My life is unpredictable I can work up to 80 hrs a week sometime, then spend a week in the mountains, come back sleep a bit, start something else, it's hard to get back into after a bit of time. Some of it is pure sloth some I'll admit, some of it, like you when I'm traveling I'm not online, I'm busy doing stuff.

It's always fun to think about the goals for next year, especially with the new year fast approaching. It must be exciting to plan some future trips, something to look forward to. Good luck planning your travels and setting next year's goals! x🐞x

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Good job! I agree it is the way to connect to cool people and thrive in the social world we're building together. But I have fallen behind in terms of engagement lately since I am not that closely dedicated to anything on the chain. I do what I can when I can and I certainly have to disengage a little bit further in order to develop other aspects of this new thing called family life...

But...I am sure I can still do some engaging from time to time, even if its about 20 comments a week, or 7, or any number. I still hope some of them bring something to somebody else, as well.

Still here and mostly ready to engage. To maintain high level...not that much. But I am here to prove that any good effort is good ;)

Good luck on your goals, everybody! We have to have them no matter if we change some of our strategies meanwhile. Even goals are fine to be changed if the new ones resonate better with yourselves.

Thank you! I certainly understand the disengagement for family life. It's beyond important for you AND your family.

Hell. I even disengaged from motorcycles for family life. There were quite a few years where I only had a dirt bike that I could enjoy a couple hours at a time, and even a few years (a very few) with no motorcycles. My baby brother let me ride his a lot in the days before he had a family!

Goals and straegies are great as long as I don't let them become 'the boss'.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hello friend @ bigtom13 good day
I am very happy for you with the results you are having, there is no doubt that commitment is the best way to grow in our company.
I have no doubt that it will meet all your goals. Congratulations for the excellent work you do, you are an example to follow
I take this opportunity to wish you a wonderful day. Enjoy it a lot

Hello @jlufer! Very good to see you my friend!

Of all people you are one of the examples of engagement that I follow and aspire to be like.

Thank you for all you do. It leaves a mark, I can assure you.

!ENGAGE 20

You cannot sent token to yourself.

Tom friend, you are very kind, I appreciate your words very much, but coming from a person as committed as you.
I am very happy to see your evolution, you will get to where you propose. May the successes continue dear friend.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

An ambitious man you are there @Bigtom and I love it.

Certainly beats laying around all day wasting your life away like far too many people do eh...

You like railroads- well ofcourse I'm sure you do I can just see it in you. And I'm sure we've talked about my favourite author Clive Cussler before, not sure if you know that he writes a series called the Isaac Bell series that feature railroads set in the 30/40's that you might be interested in- https://www.howtoread.me/isaac-bell-books-in-order/ although, you would never be able to put them down and then that would take too much time away from your comment goal...ahhh options, decisions, distractions...

Sorry I won't tempt you anymore...lol...😀

Anyway, I hope that you're having a great day over there in amongst the chaos and speak soon.

Thank you.

I certainly like Clive Custer (and railroads) so I will check out his series. Thank you for sharing it with me.

I love Prominitory for it's remoteness, too. You can see where the old rail bed used to be but all the tracks were pulled up during WWII for the steel. It was once a hub of activity but is pretty darn quiet now.

It's so remote that AKC has it's headquarters within about 10 miles. They build solid rocket boosters from bazoka shells to the Shuttle's external boosters and have a display in their parking lot of all of them...

Sounds like a whole region very near my home town.
Overgrown train tracks snaking their way through paddocks and over hills everywhere and instead of keeping them going for all of the people that want to travel 3hrs from Canberra to the coast, they now have cramped buses instead...

Yeah go for Clive. I know that you're really enjoy them!

What's the AKC by the way?

Jeeze. I got my letters mixed. It's ATK. I wonder what AKC (American Kennel Club?) is too :)

A huge defense contractor. They were able to grab a HUGE reservation out there to manufacture and test their stuff. Here's a view from their parking lot at part of their display.

image.png

Pretty impressive parking lot, all in all. Another discovery made when I was completely lost. I knew I wanted to head south and west....

Wow, impressive yes, a bit scary too, yes.....😳

In Eastern Washington State I know of at least two spur lines that were abandoned and the right of way converted into trails. One of them is over 50 miles long and both are especially popular with horse riders...

I also know an abandoned line that was converted into a roadway for logging trucks and sportsmen near Avery, Idaho in the Rocky Mountains. There are two tunnels that you are required to have a CB radio and check oncomming traffic before entering. Pretty cool stuff. It was the very best way to get to my favorite fishing place on earth...

Now that sounds pretty cool.
I never got to Idaho unfortunately, but I did go through the Rockies...well I must have when I was in Colorado. Loved Colorado....Loved the US, soooo many gorgeous and totally unique places everywhere...

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I'll be a little bit short of my goal, but am still going to try. I started with 17,256 comments, all I had to do was double up from 10 comments a day to 20 comments with a few extra days over 20. Well i was unable to double up, and now I am at a point needing about 28 comments a day, but I'll still be close to my goal of 20,000, just have to see how this last 30 days pan out.

You and your record keeping are an inspiration. Not that I'll build a spreadsheet, I keep my comment records on sticky notes on the bottom rail of my monitor. :)

It's been a pleasure to watch with you as the 'challenge' has gone along.

I am pretty sure I'll be a little bit short, but I will make it eventually, I just like commenting sometimes a lot, sometimes not so much,

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Nice that’s great man, I think you’ll make it, I’m figuring you’ll beat it by about 70 comments!

I had made a hive goal to have 10k net hive power by the end of the year, factoring in delegations as well. It seemed a little sketchy for a period there but I think with the way it’s going I’ll be able to cross the line a success on December 31st.

My comments have been up and down, some weeks I’m cranking out a few hundred, others it’s less than a hundred but at least it’s mostly over a hundred. I think I’ll finish the year with 8000 comments total, a pretty solid number thankfully! If I can get a slower week at work or two, the number will really go up!

Thank you. I think I have a small cushion. I love that you read and comment. Always glad to see you!

10k is a big deal, it really is. That would be WAY cool to make it on New Year's eve.

I figured out my net cost per hive a couple of weeks ago. I bought some Steem at the absolute top so I have 17 cents into each Hive. I was over 40 cents when I left Steem for good, so 17 is a big improvement.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Personally, I am for 10 comments a day, and that's really pushing it. I'm way, way behind on that, too. I hope you make it!

I like that picture. I like to envision what it must have been like back then to be riding on one of those old rocky-rolling steam engines across what must have seemed like a completely virgin prairie without any form of urban sprawl in sight. Man. I'm living in the wrong era.

One thing I really like about your comments and your posts is the thoughtfulness of them. I REALLY appreciate that!

Can you imagine? When they connected the rails there it only took 6 days to cross from NYC to San Francisco. Amazing.

Thank you,

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @bigtom13! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Congratulations @bigtom13! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking