You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Logically yours

I think that being open and honest about letting smallsteps pick her own path from endless possibilities is the absolute most important factor. Encouraging her choices as choices and not trying to specialize or direct her curiosity is cardinal to her.

Are there genetic biases? Of course. I don't think they have much to do with finding happiness in life, only paths that will be considered.

I'll grant that my personal bias may be because I was adopted and had no direct genetic models to survey. It was until this year that I had a genetic model to compare myself to. A bit late to the party for that.

That said, I now have some people to compare myself to. Both the obvious differences and similarities are worthy of contemplation. In all honesty, I would probably just discard all of the above. Because I have no idea or any sort of a well formed theory about it.

Sort:  

Encouraging her choices as choices and not trying to specialize or direct her curiosity is cardinal to her.

Yep. I don't plan on her being anything like what I might want her to be - she is the master of her own destiny.

It was until this year that I had a genetic model to compare myself to.

Did you find similarities? From the recent studies, genetics plays a far larger role in outcomes of life than the parents.

In all honesty, I would probably just discard all of the above. Because I have no idea or any sort of a well formed theory about it.

The latest Sam Harris podcast concerning genetics is an interesting look at this.

Yes. YES (big yes) I found similarities. Big and little. In my first family I was a little bit of an outlier in my way of thinking (the way I process things, not the way I think) but then, we were all non related and so we were all outliers. There was sameness in our differences, as if that might make any sense. Maybe familiarity is a better word there than sameness.

My brother and I process the world through the same filters. Both very mechanically oriented we settled right into discussion with out having to probe the ground rules first. It was basically the same with my sisters except that they are girls :)

We are leaners. 40% of earth's population is more comfortable leaning on something than standing unsupported. I'm a leaner and so are they. Among a great many other things.

I find it quite fascinating to hear stories like this - I have a couple friends who have done similar after being adopted and they are always surprised at how familiar strangers can be.

!ENGAGE 35

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.