You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sapphire

Well, I'm like you. I prefer the Ruby-but it is my birthstone. I have a few rings but the ONE is a rectangular Ruby that my grandfather wore.

I have mined just a little Saphire in Idaho maybe 40 years ago. We sold the hygraded ore to a guy (I think we got $50 per pound) and it was a great way to pay for some time in the deep wilderness. I wish I'd have kept a couple of samples...

I just recently found a piece of a little flint node out in the desert. The entire node would have been maybe 4 inches in diameter and this is a wedge out of the node. I've looked a couple of times in the area and can't find any more pieces, but I was excited anyway. It fractured in a nice sharp edge and you can easily see how it could be shaped into a tool.

Thanks for another great post. I really appreciate it.