How Did I Fall In Love With Yoga?

Hi everyone on The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE community, I'm Dao Tam. I'm a newbie on Hive and this is my first post after the introduction post. In this post, I would like to write about the thing I love to do everyday, which is yoga. I hope this post is suitable on this community.

How did I fall in love with yoga?

Looking back on the time since I was first introduced to yoga in 2016. I remember it was the summer of 2016, when a close friend of mine in Saigon went to Da Nang to open her first yoga class. With a curious personality and love of new things, I signed up for the class because I was captivated by the flexible yoga poses, beautiful pictures, and then the desire to become a yoga instructor grew in me.

6.jpg

After 6 years, it's not a long time, but it is enough for me to immerse myself and engage in learning about yoga, its origins and the wonderful things that yoga brings. And now yoga is a part of my life.

9.jpg

Here are 5 things that I learned from practicing yoga for 6 years.

#1 . Yoga is more than just flexible postures

The first impression is always what makes us decide to commit, or give up. It's the same with yoga for me. The eye-catching flexible poses, beautiful shots and impressive yoga motion clips are what I long for.

8.jpg

However, what made me stick with yoga is not that simple. Yoga helps me to listen to my body. The first lesson when coming to yoga is to practice breathing. Yes, you did not hear wrong.

hoian-trip (8).JPG

A famous yoga teacher once said that, as children, we breathe instinctively, which is to breathe deeply through our belly. Then we grow up, we live according to the cycle of fast life, to adapt, belly breathing is gradually replaced by lung breathing, which is a short and not deep way of breathing.

The practice of yoga helps to listen to each breath movement, bringing us back to the right way of breathing. It is about feeling every movement of the body as we inhale, then exhale slowly. If you don't have time to practice yoga regularly, I recommend you try breathing exercises. Just one small change, but in the long run your heart health will improve dramatically.

#2 . Slow down

With yoga, being impatient, rushing, and taking risks to quickly master difficult movements or increase practice time makes us forget where our own strength is and what state it is in. That's really a dangerous thing in yoga.

hoian-trip (6).JPG

The longer I practice yoga, the more I realize the importance of practicing correct posture and understanding my body. Then gradually the body will be relaxed, flexible and will become better day by day.

#3. Relieve neck and shoulder pain

Most of my day is sitting at the computer working, so it is inevitable that my back and shoulders will hurt. Breathing exercises and yoga at the end of the day have helped me a lot in alleviating those pains. Now, my neck and shoulders are temporarily okay and don't hurt as much as friends and colleagues.

hoian-trip (7).JPG

hoian-trip (13).JPG

If you are interested, I will share more movements I often use to relieve pain in the following article.

#4. I have more friends

Like participating in other activities, yoga helps me to open up more (actually I am quite an introvert), me and 3 close friends, whom I know in yoga class, often invite each other to the beach to practice yoga. , or go to Hoi An to socialize with other yoga groups.

hoian-trip (1).JPG

hoian-trip (9).JPG

#5. My joy becomes simpler

When I go camping with my husband or friends, I bring a yoga mat and so I have more space for myself to refresh. Or experience the feeling of rolling out a yoga mat and lying on the sand, listening to the sound of the ocean waves, or welcoming the sunrise with a yoga sun salutation is enough to make me feel very happy.

yoga.jpg

74d0fa377b70b32eea61.jpg

What about you, if you are looking for a natural spiritual therapy, try yoga.

Wish you a beautiful day!

Sort:  

untitled.gif

hehe y chang anh Đù nhờ 😘

Those are some great things you have learned. I have been practicing for many years and love it too!

Yes @sjarvie5 😊, yoga gives me a lot of things. If you have time, try yoga or meditation, just close your eyes and breathe. The trips will be interesting with the addition of a yoga mat.

Hi Daotam. I do both and have blogged about them both- meditation which I have been doing consistently for 4 years and yoga for 5 or 6 years.

@itsmiessyonpeakd I found her! ehehehe

Nice to meet another yogi here on Hive. Totally agree with you said about yoga and its benefits! Hope to see more yoga posts from you!

Told yeah! 😻untitled.gif

Thank you @asasiklause 😄 Nice to meet youu tooo!!

You're welcome!:)))

I LOVED reading this @daotam :) Thanks for sharing your love of yoga with us. I used to do at least one sun salutation most mornings to help me wake up but then I switched to a different mindfulness practice in the morning and I've been forgetting to do yoga at all! You've inspired me to make room for it again ♥️

Thanks for your sharing @consciouscat. I usually do yoga in the morning, or in the afternoon after work. It could be an hour of yoga, or simply sun salutation flow or Downward Facing Dog. It depends on the time and mood :D

Congratulations @daotam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.
You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP