You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In A State of Social Dilemma

Thank you for this post, it's because of this that I discovered and watched the documentary. Hive helped a lot in curbing the immediate phone checking of FB newsfeed as soon as I turn on my phone in the morning. We have made it a habit of turning off all mobile devices at home during sleeping hours.

Having gone through several social media detox since last year. Some 1-month straight after keeping a few social media accounts temporarily deactivated, I noticed many positive changes by replacing the impulse of reaching for the phone with other activities related to more creative pursuits. I was able to concentrate and complete a certification exam that has been a long term goal by using the supposed screen time into studying instead. Unfortunately, I couldn't delete FB completely because I use it for work.

Moving back to the documentary, I'm grateful for the awareness. It is scary to think that it has created a great divide and would result in chaos if it remains as it is.

Sort:  

Wow, congrats to completing your certification exam! See, there are more productive ways to spend our time in the internet. The problem is that, social media is quite distracting 😅 I haven't tried detoxing yet. I rely too much on social media for connecting with people both personally and in my line of work. It's even harder now that I'm in a wfh set-up. Home was supposed to be a place of rest and relaxation. But I suppose we've got to adjust with the times.

Thank you and thank goodness, we have a means of communication with friends and family during the pandemic. Haha, during that detox time I have been called a hermit 😂 Yes, you're right, it's going to be a challenge to do a social detox during this period, most especially when it's needed for work. The tips and advice you've given will already make a huge difference.